High-SchoolPlayer-of-the-Year: Kellen Moore

POY Alumni: Kellen Moore winningest ever

November, 7, 2011
POY Alumni: Kellen MooreAPThe 2006-07 Gatorade Washington Football Player of the Year, Kellen Moore throws a touchdown pass during his Football Bowl Subdivision record 46th victory.
A half-decade ago, no one outside of remote south-central Washington State knew who Kellen Moore was. Except, that is, the Gatorade Player of the Year Award program, which named Moore the State Football Player of the Year in 2006-07.

That fall, the 6-foot-0, 191-pound signal caller was not rated in the ESPNU Top 150 as a high school senior. Only Boise State offered him a chance to win a starting job.

Now, the fifth-year collegiate senior owns the record for most wins by a starting quarterback in Football Bowl Subdivision history. His 219 yards and five touchdowns passing helped lift the Broncos to a win over UNLV, Moore's 46th as quarterback. The mark eclipses the previous record of 45 set by current Cleveland Browns and former Texas Longhorns quarterback Colt McCoy.

Eight games into his final season, Moore has thrown for 13,096 yards and 128 TDs against just 24 interceptions. As a prep senior at Prosser, Moore broke his own single-season state record by firing 67 touchdown passes against just five interceptions while amassing 4,157 passing yards and leading the Mustangs to the Class 2A postseason semifinals.

Read More »

Former POYs among Heisman candidates

October, 19, 2011
Heisman Trophy: Kellen MooreCary Edmonson/WireImageFormer Gatorade Washington Football Player of the Year Kellen Moore is a Heisman Trophy candidate for Boise State University this season.
Of the nine players on ESPN's Heisman Watch, two are former Gatorade State Football Players of the Year: Boise State University quarterback Kellen Moore and University of Oklahoma quarterback Landry Jones.

Moore captured 2006-07 Gatorade Washington Football Player of the Year honors as a senior at Prosser High, throwing for 4,157 yards and a state record 67 touchdowns against just five interceptions.

Jones earned 2007-08 Gatorade New Mexico Football Player of the Year honors as a senior at Artesia High, throwing for 3,850 yards and 44 touchdowns while leading the Bulldogs to a second consecutive Class 4A state championship.

Two more Heisman trophy candidates -- Stanford University quarterback Andrew Luck and Baylor University quarterback Robert Griffin III -- both finished behind Riley Dodge for 2007-08 Gatorade Texas Football Player of the Year honors. Dodge threw for 3,445 yards and 39 touchdowns as a senior at Southlake Carroll High. He began his college career under the tutelage of his father at the University of North Texas but has since transferred to McNeese State University, where he will play in 2012.

As for the remaining five Heisman candidates ...

Read More »