High-SchoolPlayer-of-the-Year: Melissa Henderson

POY Alumni: Wenger top pick in MLS draft

January, 13, 2012
POY Alumni, Andrew Wenger, PennsylvaniaGetty ImagesNo. 1 overall pick Andrew Wenger speaks to the media at the MLS SuperDraft, just three years after capturing 2008-09 Gatorade Pennsylvania Boys Soccer Player of the Year honors.
Major League Soccer and the Women’s Professional Soccer league held their annual drafts this week, and there were six former Gatorade Soccer Players of the Year selected in each draft.

Andrew Wenger, the 2008-09 Gatorade Pennsylvania Boys Soccer Player of the Year, was the first pick in Thursday’s MLS SuperDraft by the expansion Montreal Impact. Wenger just completed his junior year at Duke University and was named the 2011 MAC Hermann Trophy winner after tallying 17 goals and eight assists.

Wenger was joined in the first round by four fellow former Gatorade winners.

Read More »

POY Alumni: NSCAA All-Americans

December, 9, 2011
Teresa NoyolaRick Bale/Stanford AthleticsTeresa Noyola, left, was one of four former Gatorade Girls Soccer Players of the Year named an NSCAA First Team All-American.
The National Soccer Coaches Association of America announced the Division I All-American Teams today, and both the men's and women's teams are loaded with former Gatorade Players of the Year.

Stanford senior Teresa Noyola, the 2008 Gatorade National Player of the Year, earned her third NSCAA All-American honor. Noyola, who scored the winning goal last Sunday as the Cardinal beat Duke, 1-0, to win its first national championship, is also one of three finalists for the Hermann Trophy, awarded to the top player in the country. Joining Noyola as a First Team All-American is Virginia freshman Morgan Brian, the 2011 Gatorade National Player of the Year. Brian is the only freshman named to the first team. Two other former Gatorade winners on the first team are Georgetown senior Ingrid Wells (2007, New Jersey) and Wake Forest sophomore Katie Stengel (2010, Florida). On the men's side, Andrew Wenger (2009, Pennsylvania), a junior forward for Duke, and North Carolina junior midfielder Enzo Martinez (2007-09, South Carolina) were named First Team All-Americans. Wenger is a finalist for the Hermann Trophy on the men's side.

Named to the second team on the women's side were: Illinois sophomore Vanessa DiBernardo (2010, Illinois), Penn State junior Christine Nairn (2007-08, Maryland) and Florida State junior Tiffany McCarty (2005-07, Washington D.C.). Casey Townsend (2007-08, Michigan), a senior forward for Maryland, made the second team on the men's side.

2007 National Player of the Year Melissa Henderson, a senior forward for Notre Dame, was a Third Team All-American. She was joined by UCLA freshman Abby Dahlkemper (2010, California), North Carolina sophomore Crystal Dunn (2010, New York), Duke sophomore Kaitlyn Kerr (2009-10, New Jersey) and Virginia junior Caroline Miller (2009, Maryland). For the men, UCLA junior Chandler Hoffman (2008-09, Alabama) and Memphis sophomore Mark Sherrod (2009, Tennesee) were named Third Team All-Americans.

POY Alumni: Women's College Cup

December, 3, 2011
Mollie PathmanDerick E. Hingle/US Presswire2010 Gatorade Girls Soccer National Player of the Year Mollie Pathman is one win away from a national title.
For the sixth straight year, a Gatorade Girls Soccer National Player of the Year will be a national champion. Mollie Pathman, the 2010 National Player of the Year, scored two goals for Duke on Saturday as the Blue Devils routed ACC rival Wake Forest, 4-1, to advance to the National Championship game against unbeaten Stanford, which boasts a pair of Gatorade National POYs in Teresa Noyola (2008) and Rachel Quon (2009).

Either Pathman or Noyola and Quon will follow in the footsteps of 2007 Gatorade winner Melissa Henderson, who won the national title with Notre Dame a year ago; 2004 winner Ashlyn Harris, who won in 2006, 2008 and 2009 with North Carolina; 2005 winner Amy Rodriguez who led USC to the 2007 title; and 2003 winner Heather O'Reilly, who teamed with Harris to win the 2006 title with UNC.

Noyola and Quon are two of seven Gatorade state winners on the Stanford roster, with Chioma Ubogagu (2010, Texas), Kristy Zurmuhlen (2008, New Hampshire) and Alina Garciamendez (2009, Texas) all scoring goals in the Cardinal's 3-0 national semifinal win over Florida State.

Pathman is one of six state winners for Duke, which also got goals from Kim DeCesare (2009, New York) and Kaitlyn Kerr (2009, 2010, New Jersey) in the 4-1 win over Wake Forest.