High-SchoolPlayer-of-the-Year: Robby Lentine

Maine Boys Soccer POY: Robby Lentine

February, 22, 2012
A dedicated ESPNHS team managed this past fall's Gatorade Boys Soccer Player of the Year selection process, resulting in winners based on the program's three pillars: athletic production and impact in the 2011 season, high academic achievement and exemplary personal character.

For his 29 fellow Gatorade State Fall Boys Soccer Player of the Year winners, click here.

THE WINNER: Robby Lentine


School: Windham (Maine)
Grade: Senior
Position: Midfielder
Height: 5-foot-8


Athletic achievement: Lentine scored 21 goals and passed for 10 assists this past season, leading the Eagles (16-2) to the Class A state championship. An All-New England selection by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America, he was also named First Team All-State and the Maine Telegram Player of the Year.

Academic excellence: Lentine has maintained an A average in the classroom.

Exemplary character: A Spanish tutor in his school, he has volunteered locally on behalf of youth soccer programs and a summer camp for children with life-threatening illnesses.

Read More »

Eye on POY: Maine boys soccer

February, 16, 2012
The fall soccer season may have concluded, but the search for Gatorade State Boys Soccer Players of the Year is in full swing. The award recognizes not only athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the field. Here are two top candidates who meet the basic award criteria as determined by our ESPNHS team that administers the program’s selection process.

Robby Lentine
Senior Midfielder, Windham High (Windham, ME)

2011 Team record: 16-2
2011 Team standing: Won Class A state title

2011 Goals: 21
2011 Assists: 10
2011 Points per game: 1.72
Career goals: 35
Career assists: 25

Academics: A average
Collegiate destination: Roanoke College

How he’s played himself into the State POY conversation: Maine Telegram Player of the Year; NSCAA All-New England; Four-time First-Team All-Conference.

Read More »