RTC: Ref erred in Monday-night game

September, 11, 2013
9/11/13
8:58
AM ET
Reading the coverage of the Texans...

Several calls didn't go the Texans' way Monday night in San Diego, but one big one did. Early in the fourth quarter as Randy Bullock kicked a 37-yard field goal, Chargers defensive tackle Cam Thomas was called for unnecessary roughness in accordance with a rule that makes the long snapper a defenseless player. The Texans got a first down, then scored immediately to cut the Chargers' lead to seven. NFL Vice President of Officiating, Dean Blandino, said on NFL Network that was the wrong call. "The rule is to protect the snapper on a field goal or extra point from a direct forcible blow to the head or neck area, or with the crown/forehead/hairline parts of the helmet to the body. It was not designed to prohibit any contact with the snapper, which is what happened on this play."

Safety Ed Reed remains day-to-day for the Texans, writes Dave Zangaro of CSN Houston. The story also notes that inside linebacker Darryl Sharpton will be on the field today, though he hasn't finished the league's concussion protocol yet, and the Texans are evaluating nickel corner Brice McCain.

More than 500,000 households watched the Texans play the Chargers on Monday night, writes David Barron of the Houston Chronicle. He takes a look at the ratings locally.

Tania Ganguli

ESPN Houston Texans reporter

SPONSORED HEADLINES

Comments

Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.