Print and Go Back ESPN.com: Indianapolis Colts [Print without images]

Thursday, November 7, 2013
Officials missed a second call with the Colts

By Mike Wells

INDIANAPOLIS -- The officials didn’t miss one call that went against the Indianapolis Colts in their game against the Houston Texans last weekend. They missed two.

The NFL notified the Colts that the officials should not have overturned a fumble recovery off a kickoff in the second quarter of their victory over the Texans. Texans returner Keshawn Martin fumbled the ball and Colts safety Sergio Brown got on the ball near the sidelines. The officials initially ruled that it was Indianapolis’ ball.

The Texans challenged the play and the officials reversed the call and gave the ball back to Houston. Referee Bill Vinovich announced that LaVon Brazill's hand was out of bounds when he touched the ball right before Brown recovered it.

“That one they said it shouldn’t have been overturned,” Colts coach Chuck Pagano said.

The Colts learned earlier this week that they could have challenged a play where the officials did not call roughing the punter when Houston’s Bryan Braman ran into Pat McAfee without touching the ball.