Indianapolis Colts: Andre Reed

Who belongs on Colts' Mount Rushmore?

February, 13, 2014
LeBron James, the best all-around NBA player walking on this planet, raised a lot of eyebrows and took the attention off of Oklahoma City’s Kevin Durant momentarily earlier this week when he said he should be on the NBA’s Mount Rushmore.

The Indianapolis Colts have the Ring of Honor, but what about a Mount Rushmore, where only the best of the best belong?

Four players and four players only since the team moved from Baltimore to Indianapolis.

Here are my three players, with the fourth one up in the air.

QB Peyton Manning: Is there any question about that the player who spent 14 years with the Colts, led them to two Super Bowl appearances and set countless team records? His face has already been chipped away on top of the mountain even though he’s still slinging balls down field and yelling “Omaha” at the line of scrimmage for the Denver Broncos.

WR Marvin Harrison: Who needs the Hall of Fame when you have Mount Rushmore? Just joking. Harrison will end up in the Hall of Fame sooner than later. Harrison is in the NFL’s all-time top seven in yards (14,580), touchdowns (128) and receptions (1,102).

WR Reggie Wayne: Wayne’s season got cut short because of a torn ACL in Week 7, but not before passing Randy Moss and Hines Ward for the eighth-most receptions (1,006), Steve Largent, Andre Reed and Torry Holt for 11th-most receiving yards (13,566) and Charley Taylor and Harold Carmichael for 23rd-most receiving touchdowns (80). He hopes to continue to move up the record book when he returns next season.

The fourth one is where the dilemma lies.

Robert Mathis? Dwight Freeney? Edgerrin James? What about Jeff Saturday?

An argument could be made for all of them to be up there.
Both have strong résumés.

Tony Dungy led the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and Indianapolis Colts to the playoffs in 11 of his 13 seasons coaching the teams. The Colts won Super Bowl XLI under Dungy.

Receiver Marvin Harrison is in the top seven in receiving yards, receptions and receiving touchdowns.

None of those accolades mattered Saturday because Harrison and Dungy will have to wait at least another year. The two were not named to the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2014.

Harrison, who was in his first year of eligibility, made the cut from 15 modern-era finalists to 10, but did not make the cut to the five players to be voted on for the class. Dungy didn’t make the cut from 15 to 10 in the selection meeting.

Reed’s selection over Harrison is confusing. Reed is headed to the Hall of Fame after being an eight-time finalist.

The numbers prove that Harrison was a better receiver. There's no other way to look at it.

Harrison had at least 1,000 yards receiving and 10 touchdowns in eight straight seasons. Reed had at least 1,000 yards and 10 touchdowns in a season only once in his career. He topped 1,000 receiving yards in a season only four times in his 16-year career.

Harrison was an eight-time Pro Bowler and six-time All-Pro selection. Reed played in seven Pro Bowls.

Harrison's and Dungy's time will come.

Just not now.

Is this year of the receiver at HOF?

January, 30, 2014
Is this the year that the Hall of Fame elects three wide receivers?

That's what former Indianapolis Colts general manager and current ESPN NFL analyst Bill Polian believes.

Receivers Marvin Harrison, Tim Brown and Andre Reed are finalist for the Hall of Fame. Each finalist must receive 80 percent of the votes.

Polian was general manager of the Colts when Harrison played with the team and GM of the Buffalo Bills when Reed was catching touchdown passes from Jim Kelly.

Reed is a finalist for the eighth straight year. Brown was among the first cut last year when finalist were reduced from 17 to 12. This is the fifth year that he's been eligible.

"I believe this ought to be the year of the receiver," Polian said. "All three deserve to go in. Get it out of the way by doing the right thing. Next year you can get back to electing guards and tackles and there are some seriously deserving defensive players this year in my opinion. It's long overdue for Andre and Tim Brown."

Click here for profiles on the other Hall of Fame finalists.
INDIANAPOLIS -- Former Indianapolis Colts coach Tony Dungy and receiver Marvin Harrison are a step away from being elected into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Dungy and Harrison are two of the 15 finalists for this year's Hall of Fame class.

The 46-person Hall of Fame panel will vote for the 2014 class on Feb. 1.

Dungy, the winningest coach in Colts history, won five division titles, reached the AFC Championship Game twice and won a Super Bowl while coaching the team from 2002-08.

Harrison was second in league history in receptions when he retired in 2008. He had eight straight 1,000-yard receiving seasons. He ended his career with 1,102 receptions for 14,580 yards and 128 touchdowns.

The Colts have 12 individuals in the Hall of Fame.

Here's a list of the 13 of other finalists for the Hall of Fame: Kicker Morten Andersen, running back Jerome Bettis, linebacker Derrick Brooks, receiver Tim Brown, owner Edward DeBartolo, Jr., linebacker Kevin Greene, punter Ray Guy, defensive end Charles Haley, defensive end Claude Humphrey, offensive tackle Walter Jones, safety John Lynch, receiver Andre Reed, guard Will Shields, defensive end Michael Strahan and cornerback Aeneas Williams.