Los Angeles Preps: Mike Sparling

Southwest Division: La Habra 35, Tustin 26

December, 11, 2010
ANAHEIM – The tally on La Habra's fourth consecutive Southern Section championship will show that the Highlanders scored five touchdowns, including the decisive one midway through the fourth quarter.

But when the history of third-seeded La Habra's 35-26 Southwest Division victory over top-seeded Tustin is recalled, it will be the second and third ones that are talked about, and the fact that the Highlanders beat Tustin at its own game.

La Habra (11-3) matched St. Margaret's as the only team in Orange County to ever win four consecutive titles. The Highlanders' three losses were to Trinity League teams Servite, Orange Lutheran and St. John Bosco. Tustin finished 12-2 in front of 7,294 at Angel Stadium.

La Habra senior Drake Griffin carried 29 times for 317 yards and scored touchdowns on runs of 44, 11, four and nine yards. The Highlanders also salvaged the first half with a TD drive in the final minute, and they drove 93 yards on their first possession of the second half. That's where the title was won.

(Read full post)