GALAXY: Draw will provide CCL path

The Major League Soccer campaign isn't going so well for the Galaxy, and neither did the U.S. Open Cup -- nor the knockout rounds of the last CONCACAF Champions League.

But there's one more trophy to pursue, and L.A. will learn its path Tuesday when CONCACAF stages the draw for the 2012-13 Champions League at its New York offices.

The Galaxy, as MLS Cup champion, will head one of eight three-team groups in the competition's first stage, with the winner advancing to next year's quarterfinals. They're one of eight clubs in Pot A for the draw and will be joined by one team each from Pots B and C.

L.A. cannot be drawn with other U.S. teams -- the Seattle Sounders also are in Pot A, and the Houston Dynamo and Real Salt Lake are in Pot B -- or with a Mexican club. That means that they will be joined from Pot B by one of four clubs:

  • MLS rival Toronto FC, which beat the Galaxy three months ago in the 2011-12 quarterfinals

  • Costa Rican power Alajuelense, which was in Group A with the Galaxy last year

  • Honduras' Marathon

  • El Salvador's Isidro Metapan, the only 2011-12 quarterfinalist not from MLS or Mexico

Pot C contains five Central American clubs and three teams, yet to be determined, from the Caribbean Football Union. Two of the four Caribbean finalists play in U.S. leagues: Puerto Rico Islanders (in the North American Soccer League) and Antigua Barracuda (in the USL Pro).

The group winners will be ranked by their records and seeded into the knockout bracket following group play, which begins July 31 and runs into October. The quarterfinals will be played late next winter.

Mexico's Monterrey is the two-time defending champion, beating Real Salt Lake in the 2011 title series and countrymen Santos Laguna earlier this spring.

El Salvador received a third berth as the only Central American country to send a club to the 2011-12 knockout stage. FAS takes the slot from Belize, which has no stadiums that meet CONCACAF standards.

Below is the list of teams in each pot, the Caribbean finalists and previous winners of the tournament:



Galaxy (U.S.): 2011 MLS Cup and Supporters' Shield winner

Seattle Sounders (U.S.): 2011 U.S. Open Cup winner and Supporters' Shield runner-up

UANL Tigres (Mexico): 2011 Apertura champion

Santos Laguna (Mexico): 2012 Clausura champion

Herediano (Costa Rica): 2012 Verano champion

Xelaju (Guatemala): 2012 Clausura champion

Olimpia (Honduras): 2011 Apertura and 2012 Clausura champion

Chorrillo (Panama): 2011 Apertura champion


Houston Dynamo (U.S.): 2011 MLS Cup runner-up

Real Salt Lake (U.S.): 2011 Supporters' Shield third place

Guadalajara (Mexico): Best record in 2011 Apertura among nonfinalists

Monterrey (Mexico): 2012 Clausura runner-up

Toronto FC (Canada): 2012 Canadian Championship champion

Alajuelense (Costa Rica): 2011 Invierno champion

Isidro Metapan (El Salvador): 2011 Apertura Champion

Marathon (Honduras): Nonchampion with the best 2011-12 aggregate record


Aguila (El Salvador): 2012 Clausura champion

FAS (El Salvador): Nonchampion with the best 2011-12 aggregate record

Municipal (Guatemala): 2011 Apertura champion

Real Esteli (Nicaragua): Champion with the best 2011-12 aggregate record

Tauro (Panama): 2012 Clausura champion

Caribbean champion

Caribbean runner-up

Caribbean third place


Puerto Rico Islanders (Puerto Rico): Two-time defending Caribbean club champion, current leader in the second-division North American Soccer League (U.S.)

Antigua Barracuda (Antigua & Barbuda): Second-year club in the third-division USL Pro (U.S.)

Caledonia AIA (Trinidad & Tobago): First place in 2011-12 TT Pro League qualifying list

W Connection (Trinidad & Tobago): Second place in 2011-12 TT Pro League qualifying list

Note: The final-round schedule has not been announced



Matchday 1: July 31-Aug. 2

Matchday 2: Aug. 21-23

Matchday 3: Aug. 28-30

Matchday 4: Sept. 18-20

Matchday 5: Sept. 25-27

Matchday 6: Oct. 23-25

Note: All clubs will have two byes during the group phase


Quarterfinals: March 5-7 and 12-14

Semifinals: April 2-4 and 9-11

Final: April 24 and May 1



Champions League

2011-12 -- Monterrey (Mexico)

2010-11 -- Monterrey (Mexico)

2009-10 -- Pachuca (Mexico)

2008-09 -- Atlante (Mexico)

CONCACAF Champions' Cup

2008 -- Pachuca (Mexico)

2007 -- Pachuca (Mexico)

2006 -- America (Mexico)

2005 -- Saprissa (Costa Rica)

2004 -- Alajuelense (Costa Rica)

2003 -- Toluca (Mexico)

2002 -- Pachuca (Mexico)

2000 -- Los Angeles Galaxy (U.S.)

1999 -- Necaxa (Mexico)

1998 -- D.C. United (U.S.)

1997 -- Cruz Azul (Mexico)

1996 -- Cruz Azul (Mexico)

1995 -- Saprissa (Costa Rica)

1994 -- Cartagines (Costa Rica)

1993 -- Saprissa (Costa Rica)

1992 -- America (Mexico)

1991 -- Puebla (Mexico)

1990 -- America (Mexico)

1989 -- Pumas UNAM (Mexico)

1988 -- Olimpia (Honduras)

1987 -- America (Mexico)

1986 -- Alajuelense (Costa Rica)

1985 -- Defence Force (Trinidad & Tobago)

1984 -- Violette (Haiti)

1983 -- Atlante (Mexico)

1982 -- Pumas UNAM (Mexico)

1981 -- Transvaal (Suriname)

1980 -- Pumas UNAM (Mexico)

1979 -- FAS (El Salvador)

1978 -- Leones Negros (Mexico), Comunicaciones (Guatemala) and Defence Force (Trinidad & Tobago)

1977 -- America (Mexico)

1976 -- Aguila (El Salvador)

1975 -- Atletico Español (Mexico)

1974 -- Municipal (Guatemala)

1973 -- Transvaaal (Dutch Guyana)

1972 -- Olimpia (Honduras)

1971 -- Cruz Azul (Mexico)

1970 -- Cruz Azul (Mexico)

1969 -- Cruz Azul (Mexico)

1968 -- Toluca (Mexico)

1967 -- Alianza (El Salvador)

1963 -- Haïtien (Haiti)

1962 -- Guadalajara (Mexico)