Rose Bowl gets 2011 Gold Cup final

July, 21, 2010
The CONCACAF Gold Cup final is returning to Southern California after nine years: Next year's championship game in the regional national teams competition will be played at the Rose Bowl.

It'll be the sixth time the champion of North and Central America and the Caribbean will be crowned in L.A., and odds are it will be the U.S. or Mexico. The region's two big powers have combined for nine of 10 titles since CONCACAF, the regional governing body for soccer, established the Gold Cup in 1991.

CONCACAF championships also were played from 1963 to 1971, and the region's top qualifier for the 1974, 1978, 1982, 1986 and 1990 World Cups doubled as the CONCACAF titlist.

The Rose Bowl staged 10 games, including the final, at the 2002 Gold Cup. The U.S. beat Costa Rica, 2-0, in the championship game.

Gold Gup finals were played at the Coliseum in 1991 (with the U.S. winning), 1996 (Mexico), 1998 (Mexico) and 2000 (Canada). The past three title games were played in East Rutherford, N.J. (2005, won by the U.S., and 2009, won by Mexico) and Chicago (2007, won by the U.S.); Southern California venues were used during the 2005, 2007 and 2009 tournaments.

No date has been set for the 2011 title game, but the tournament will begin June 5. Other venues will be announced later this year. Qualifying begins Aug. 18 with the start of the Caribbean Cup.

The Gold Cup winner will qualify for the 2013 Confederations Cup.

CONCACAF Championship
1963: Costa Rica
1965: Mexico
1967: Guatemala
1969: Costa Rica
1971: Mexico
1973: Haiti
1977: Mexico
1981: Honduras
1985: Canada
1989: Costa Rica

1991: United States
1993: Mexico
1996: Mexico
1998: Mexico
2000: Canada
2002: United States
2003: Mexico
2005: United States
2007: United States
2009: Mexico



You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?