Pac-12 alters UCLA basketball schedule

July, 26, 2012
7/26/12
6:19
PM PT
The Pac-12 Conference on Thursday announced several changes to the previously released UCLA men's basketball schedule, including moving the dates of the Bruins' games against crosstown rival USC.

The Bruins will now face USC at home in Pauley Pavilion on Wednesday, Jan. 30 and at the Galen Center on Sunday, Feb. 24. Those games were originally announced as Feb. 2 and Feb. 23.

The conference also switched the dates for UCLA's home game against Arizona State. The Sun Devils will visit on Wednesday, Feb. 27, one day earlier than the original schedule. UCLA's visit to Washington State also takes place a day earlier, now scheduled for Wednesday, March 6 instead of Thursday, March 7.

Additionally, UCLA's trip to the Bay Area has been altered. The games will still be Feb. 14 and 16, but the opponents have flipped. UCLA will play California on Feb. 14 and at Stanford on Feb. 16.

The changes are presumably to accommodate television broadcasters, though the game times and television broadcast schedule is still to be announced for all but three games. The Pac-12 has deals with ESPN and Fox as well as it's own networks starting this fall.

Some of those changes mean the Bruins will break from the normal Thursday-Saturday scheduling, something coach Ben Howland will enjoy. Playing on Wednesday gives Howland an extra day of preparation for the Saturday game.

Finally, the Bruins announced Cal State San Marcos as the opponent for the Dec. 4 exhibition game at Pauley Pavilion.

The updated schedule, which is still subject to change:

Fri, Nov. 9 Indiana State - Pauley Pavilion Opener

Tue., Nov. 13 Legends Classic Game 1 vs TBA at Pauley Pavilion

Thu., Nov. 15 Legends Classic Game 2 vs TBA at Pauley Pavilion

Mon., Nov. 19 Georgetown (@Brooklyn, NY), 5 pm PT, ESPN2

Tue., Nov. 20 Indiana/Georgia(@Brooklyn, NY), 4:30/7 pm PT, ESPN or ESPNU

Sun., Nov. 25 Cal Poly

Wed., Nov. 28 Cal State Northridge

Sat., Dec. 1 San Diego State (@Honda Center)

Tue., Dec. 4 Cal State San Marcos (Exhibition)

Sat., Dec. 8 Texas (@Houston), 2:15 PT, ESPN

Sat., Dec. 15 Prairie View A&M

Tue., Dec. 18 Long Beach State

Sat., Dec. 22 Fresno State

Fri., Dec. 28 Missouri

Thu., Jan. 3 California

Sat., Jan. 5 Stanford

Thu., Jan. 10 @ Utah

Sat., Jan. 12 @ Colorado

Thu., Jan. 17 Oregon State

Sat., Jan. 19 Oregon

Thu., Jan. 24 @ Arizona

Sat., Jan. 26 @ Arizona State

Wed., Jan. 30 USC

Thu., Feb. 7 Washington

Sat., Feb. 9 Washington State

Thu., Feb. 14 @ California

Sat., Feb. 16 @ Stanford

Sun., Feb. 24 @ USC

Wed., Feb. 27 Arizona State

Sat., Mar. 2 Arizona

Wed., Mar. 6 @Washington State

Sat., Mar. 9 @ Washington

Peter Yoon

ESPNLosAngeles.com

SPONSORED HEADLINES

Comments

You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?

2014 TEAM LEADERS

PASSINGATTCOMPYDSTD
B. Hundley336242287320
RUSHINGCARYDSAVGTD
P. Perkins21312625.97
B. Hundley1425664.08
RECEIVINGRECYDSAVGTD
J. Payton6187014.37
D. Fuller503907.81
TEAMRUSHPASSTOTAL
Offense208.5278.2486.6
TEAMPFPAMARGIN
Scoring3527.27.8