Trevor Bauer is Pac-10 pitcher of the year

UCLA's Trevor Bauer has been selected the Pac-10 Conference pitcher of the year and freshman pitcher Adam Plutko and sophomore outfielder Beau Amaral were first-team all conference selections.

Bauer (12-2) lead the Pac-10 with a 1.27 ERA and leads the nation with 189 strikeouts as UCLA heads in to the NCAA regionals beginning Friday at Jackie Robinson Stadium. Opponents have batted only .151 against him and he set a conference record by earning six conference player of the week awards this season. He is projected as a top-five pick in Monday's major league baseball draft.

Bauer, a junior right-hander, has made the all-conference team in all three of his years at UCLA. He was 8-1 with eight complete games in nine Pac-10 starts this season. In those games, he had a 1.24 ERA with 118 strikeouts in 80 innings and pitched three shutouts.

Plutko (6-4) ranked fourth in the Pac-10 with a 2.16 ERA and has 86 strikeouts and 22 walks in 100.0 innings. He went 3-2 with a 2.51 ERA and one complete game shutout in nine Pac-10 starts. Amaral batted .307 with two home runs, 29 RBI and led the Bruins with 16 doubles, 35 runs scored and a .411 on-base percentage. Amaral batted a team-best .347 in Pac-10 games.

Junior pitcher Gerrit Cole, junior pitcher Mitchell Beacom, junior catcher Steve Rodriguez, sophomore outfielder Cody Keefer and freshman right-hander Nick Vander Tuig were named honorable mention all-conference.

Cole (6-7) has a 3.28 ERA with 108 strikeouts and 23 walks in 107.0 innings. Beacom, a key reliever, has a 2.20 ERA with 38 strikeouts and nine walks in 32.2 innings. Rodriguez has 17 RBIs and started 41 games as UCLA's catcher. Keefer has batted .305 as UCLA's everyday left fielder and Vander Tuig leads the Bruins with eight saves.

California's Tony Renda is the Pac-10 player of the year and Oregon State's Pat Caseywas named the Pac-10 coach of the year. Arizona State infielder Deven Marrero earned defensive player of the year and Stanford infielder Brian Ragira is the conference freshman of the year.