Gators one of record four SEC teams among eight national seeds

OMAHA, Neb. -- Florida is the No. 1 seed in the NCAA baseball tournament, leading a record four Southeastern Conference teams among the eight national seeds.

The tournament's 64-team field was announced Monday. Regional play begins Friday.

Florida (47-13) was ranked No. 1 in the polls for most of the season and finished runner-up to Texas A&M in the SEC tournament. The Gators open against Bethune-Cookman in Gainesville.

The other SEC national seeds are No. 4 Texas A&M (41-16), No. 6 Mississippi State (41-16-1) and No. 8 LSU (42-18).

The Atlantic Coast Conference has three national seeds in No. 2 Louisville (47-12), No. 3 Miami (45-11) and No. 7 Clemson (42-18).

The Big 12 has the other national seed in Texas Tech (41-16).