3-point stance: Mid-majors remain on College Football Playoff committee

1. There are four new members of the College Football Playoff selection committee: two Hall of Fame coaches (Lloyd Carr, Herb Deromedi), another former coach (Jeff Bower) and a current athletic director (Rob Mullens of Oregon). It helps that they are well respected. Another plus: the Group of 5 got two of the four vacancies (Deromedi from Central Michigan, Bower from Southern Mississippi). At the end of the day, though, it looks uncomfortably like a list of Academy Award nominees. I have Bryan Cranston playing Carr. Or vice versa.

2. Now that the season has ended, and hiring season has ended, I went back and looked at USA Today’s list of the highest-paid assistant coaches in 2015. Eight of the top 20, all of whom made at least $800,000, have changed jobs since the end of the regular season. Only four of the eight, Will Muschamp, Kirby Smart, Mike Norvell and D.J. Durkin, became head coaches. The other four – Jeremy Pruitt, Kevin Steele, Brian Schottenheimer and Noel Mazzone – made lateral moves. Of course, Pruitt and Schottenheimer both were part of Mark Richt’s staff at Georgia, which got shown the door.

3. The Daily Journal in northeast Mississippi is reporting that Ole Miss is in talks for a neutral-site game in 2020 against – hope you’re sitting down – Baylor. That’s the Baylor that hasn’t played a nonconference game against a Power 5 opponent since 2009, when current quarterback Jarrett Stidham was in seventh grade. The Bears have a home-and-home with Duke that begins next year, and Utah is on the schedule in the next decade. Let’s hope the deal with Ole Miss gets made. Schedule weakness contributed to Baylor getting beat at the wire for a playoff slot in 2014.