Big Ten awards updates

The Big Ten went 0-for-1 on awards night Thursday, as the Ray Guy Award went to Georgia's Drew Butler rather than Michigan's Zoltan Mesko. Though I would have voted for Mesko, Butler's numbers are extremely impressive.

There was some good news on the awards front Thursday.

Iowa's Kirk Ferentz and Penn State's Joe Paterno both have been named finalists for the 2009 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award. Ferentz, the 2009 Big Ten Coach of the Year, and Paterno are the only Big Ten representatives among the 10 finalists.

Where's Jim Tressel? It's amazing how little credit Tressel receives for Ohio State's turnaround this year.

Anyway, online voting for the award begins Dec. 15 and continues through Dec. 29. The winner will be announced Jan. 6 in Los Angeles before the BCS title game.

Five Big Ten players have been named to the Walter Camp Football Foundation's All-America team. Though the Big Ten surprisingly had no first-team honorees, the following players made the second team: Iowa offensive tackle Bryan Bulaga, Michigan defensive end Brandon Graham, Michigan State linebacker Greg Jones, Iowa linebacker Pat Angerer and Michigan punter Zoltan Mesko.