More on 'the call'

COLLEGE PARK, Md. -- Fortunately, ACC coordinator of officials Doug Rhoads is here in the press box, and he reviewed the call that nullified FSU's earlier interception return for a touchdown.

Turns out the call was correct, and more importantly, it's one of the calls in the rule book that is a foul when in question. Rhoads told me that defenseless players cannot be hit above their shoulders by any part of a defender's body, and after watching the replay, he saw Greg Reid's shoulder hit Scott just under the chin. That's illegal and he said it was the correct call.

The late hit on Christian Ponder? Now that one, he said, was questionable.