ESPN.com's All-SEC team

Everybody puts out an All-SEC team -- the media, coaches, different publications.

Well, we like to consider the ESPN.com All-SEC team the people’s team.

It’s not a popularity contest or a list of the top NFL prospects. We’re not into career achievement awards and don’t leave off deserving players just to include somebody from all 12 teams.

Our goal in picking this team is to honor the best players in the SEC this season with a heavy emphasis placed on how they fared against league competition.

There were a lot of tough choices. Picking just two receivers was impossible. Thank goodness we had an all-purpose player -- the perfect spot for Randall Cobb. But leaving off guys like A.J. Green, Joe Adams, Darvin Adams, Denarius Moore and Chris Matthews was difficult to do.

The same goes for linebacker, where the league’s leading tackler, Kentucky’s Danny Trevathan, didn’t make it. The secondary was equally hard to pick. Florida cornerback Janoris Jenkins deserves to be there, but there were only so many spots.

There are only two repeat selections from last year's ESPN.com All-SEC team -- LSU cornerback Patrick Peterson and Cobb.

Here's a look at the entire 2010 team:


QB – Cam Newton, Jr., Auburn

RB – Marcus Lattimore, Fr., South Carolina

RB – Knile Davis, So., Arkansas

AP – Randall Cobb, Jr., Kentucky

WR – Alshon Jeffery, So., South Carolina

WR – Julio Jones, Jr., Alabama

TE – D.J. Williams, Sr., Arkansas

OL – Derek Sherrod, Sr., Mississippi State

OL – Lee Ziemba, Sr., Auburn

OL – DeMarcus Love, Sr. Arkansas

OL – Barrett Jones, So., Alabama

C – Ryan Pugh, Sr., Auburn


DE – Devin Taylor, So., South Carolina

DE – Marcell Dareus, Jr., Alabama

DT – Nick Fairley, Jr., Auburn

DT – Drake Nevis, Sr., LSU

LB – Justin Houston, Jr., Georgia

LB – Kelvin Sheppard, Sr., LSU

LB – Chris White, Sr., Mississippi State

DB – Patrick Peterson, Jr., LSU

DB – Casey Hayward, Jr., Vanderbilt

DB – Ahmad Black, Sr., Florida

DB – Mark Barron, Jr., Alabama


PK – Josh Jasper, Sr., LSU

P – Chas Henry, Sr., Florida

KR – Andre Debose, Fr., Florida

PR – Patrick Peterson, Jr., LSU