Doak Walker Award snubs Pac-10

Posted by ESPN.com's Ted Miller

The Pac-10 will stop being paranoid about East Coast bias as soon as it stops falling victim to it.

The Texas-based Doak Walker Award (Central Time Zone bias?) included just two Pac-10 running backs -- UCLA's Kahlil Bell and Arizona State's Keegan Herring -- on its 43-player watch list released Thursday.

Of course, the initial list didn't even include Bell. It featured Marc Dellins instead.

Dellins is UCLA's long-time sports information director.

Wonder how many of these guys would make the rotation at USC? Or Oregon or California for that matter.

In fairness, the watch list is based on nominations by sports information directors, but it's hard to believe some of the obvious Pac-10 omissions wouldn't register -- and be corrected -- by someone who knew a little bit about the conference.

You know: Like watched the Rose Bowl (Joe McKnight).

Here's a helping hand: McKnight, Stafon Johnson, C.J. Gable, all from USC; Jahvid Best, California; and Jeremiah Johnson, Oregon.

Semifinalists will be announced on Nov. 10, and the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast votes to determine the finalists, who will be announced on Nov. 24. The committee will cast a second vote beginning on Dec. 1 to determine the recipient.

Here are the other 41 players:

  1. Tarrion Adams (Sr.), Tulsa

  2. Reggie Arnold (Jr.), Arkansas State

  3. Andre Brown (Sr.), North Carolina State

  4. Donald Brown (Jr.), Connecticut

  5. Donald Buckram (So.), UTEP

  6. James Davis (Sr.), Clemson

  7. Mike Davis (Sr.), South Carolina

  8. Andre Dixon (Jr.), Connecticut

  9. Anthony Dixon (Jr.), Mississippi State

  10. Jonathan Dwyer (So.), Georgia Tech

  11. Jamelle Eugene (Jr.), North Carolina State

  12. Tyrell Fenroy (Sr.), Louisiana Lafayette

  13. Rodney Ferguson (Sr.), New Mexico

  14. Damion Fletcher (Jr.), Southern Mississippi

  15. Arian Foster (Sr.), Tennessee

  16. Mike Goodson (Jr.), Texas A&M

  17. P.J. Hill (Jr.), Wisconsin

  18. Deonte Jackson (So.), Idaho

  19. Terrell Jackson (Sr.), UTEP

  20. Eugene Jarvis (Jr.), Kent State

  21. Ian Johnson (Sr.), Boise State

  22. Eric Kettani (Sr.), Naval Academy

  23. Jorvorskie Lane (Sr.), Texas A&M

  24. Luke Lippincott (Sr.), Nevada

  25. Greg Little (So.), North Carolina

  26. Marlon Lucky (Sr.), Nebraska

  27. Darrell Mack (Sr.), Utah

  28. DeMyron Martin (Sr.), SMU

  29. LeSean McCoy (So.), Pittsburgh

  30. Knowshon Moreno (So.), Georgia

  31. DeMarco Murray (So.), Oklahoma

  32. Javon Ringer (Sr.), Michigan State

  33. Kory Sheets (Sr.), Purdue

  34. Michael Smith (Jr.), Arkansas

  35. C.J. Spiller (Jr.), Clemson

  36. James Starks (Jr.), Buffalo

  37. Frank Summers (Sr.), UNLV

  38. Tyrell Sutton (Sr.), Northwestern

  39. Joseph Turner (Jr.), TCU

  40. Harvey Unga (So.), BYU

  41. Chris Wells (Jr.), Ohio State