Print and Go Back NCF Nation [Print without images]

Friday, December 9, 2011
Big Ten awards update

By Adam Rittenberg

"The Home Depot College Football Awards" show last night is in the books, and several Big Ten players were recognized for their efforts this season.

Here's a quick roundup:


Michigan's David Molk won the award as the nation's top center. He becomes the third Big Ten center to win the Rimington Trophy since 2004 and the first Michigan player to do so since David Baas shared the award in 2004.

Molk was a first-team All-Big Ten selection and claimed Big Ten Offensive Lineman of the Year honors.

Wisconsin's Peter Konz also was a finalist for the award.


First team
Second team

Ball deserved the first-team nod over Oregon's LaMichael James, but at least he appears on the second team. Konz also should have appeared, as he was arguably the nation's top center until dislocating his ankle Nov. 12 at Minnesota. Mercilus becomes Illinois' first Walter Camp All-American since linebackers Simeon Rice and Kevin Hardy were recognized in 1995.