Print and Go Back NCF Nation [Print without images]

Thursday, August 28, 2008
Doak Walker Award snubs Pac-10

Posted by's Ted Miller

The Pac-10 will stop being paranoid about East Coast bias as soon as it stops falling victim to it.

The Texas-based Doak Walker Award (Central Time Zone bias?) included just two Pac-10 running backs -- UCLA's Kahlil Bell and Arizona State's Keegan Herring -- on its 43-player watch list released Thursday.

Of course, the initial list didn't even include Bell. It featured Marc Dellins instead.

Dellins is UCLA's long-time sports information director.

Wonder how many of these guys would make the rotation at USC? Or Oregon or California for that matter.

In fairness, the watch list is based on nominations by sports information directors, but it's hard to believe some of the obvious Pac-10 omissions wouldn't register -- and be corrected -- by someone who knew a little bit about the conference.

You know: Like watched the Rose Bowl (Joe McKnight).

Here's a helping hand: McKnight, Stafon Johnson, C.J. Gable, all from USC; Jahvid Best, California; and Jeremiah Johnson, Oregon.

Semifinalists will be announced on Nov. 10, and the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast votes to determine the finalists, who will be announced on Nov. 24. The committee will cast a second vote beginning on Dec. 1 to determine the recipient.

Here are the other 41 players:

  1. Tarrion Adams (Sr.), Tulsa
  2. Reggie Arnold (Jr.), Arkansas State
  3. Andre Brown (Sr.), North Carolina State
  4. Donald Brown (Jr.), Connecticut
  5. Donald Buckram (So.), UTEP
  6. James Davis (Sr.), Clemson
  7. Mike Davis (Sr.), South Carolina
  8. Andre Dixon (Jr.), Connecticut
  9. Anthony Dixon (Jr.), Mississippi State
  10. Jonathan Dwyer (So.), Georgia Tech
  11. Jamelle Eugene (Jr.), North Carolina State
  12. Tyrell Fenroy (Sr.), Louisiana Lafayette
  13. Rodney Ferguson (Sr.), New Mexico
  14. Damion Fletcher (Jr.), Southern Mississippi
  15. Arian Foster (Sr.), Tennessee
  16. Mike Goodson (Jr.), Texas A&M
  17. P.J. Hill (Jr.), Wisconsin
  18. Deonte Jackson (So.), Idaho
  19. Terrell Jackson (Sr.), UTEP
  20. Eugene Jarvis (Jr.), Kent State
  21. Ian Johnson (Sr.), Boise State
  22. Eric Kettani (Sr.), Naval Academy
  23. Jorvorskie Lane (Sr.), Texas A&M
  24. Luke Lippincott (Sr.), Nevada
  25. Greg Little (So.), North Carolina
  26. Marlon Lucky (Sr.), Nebraska
  27. Darrell Mack (Sr.), Utah
  28. DeMyron Martin (Sr.), SMU
  29. LeSean McCoy (So.), Pittsburgh
  30. Knowshon Moreno (So.), Georgia
  31. DeMarco Murray (So.), Oklahoma
  32. Javon Ringer (Sr.), Michigan State
  33. Kory Sheets (Sr.), Purdue
  34. Michael Smith (Jr.), Arkansas
  35. C.J. Spiller (Jr.), Clemson
  36. James Starks (Jr.), Buffalo
  37. Frank Summers (Sr.), UNLV
  38. Tyrell Sutton (Sr.), Northwestern
  39. Joseph Turner (Jr.), TCU
  40. Harvey Unga (So.), BYU
  41. Chris Wells (Jr.), Ohio State