NCF Nation: Darrell Perkins

UConn coach Paul Pasqualoni announced Monday that defensive line coach Hank Hughes will also serve as defensive coordinator, a move that makes sense for a variety of reasons.

Let's be honest. Nothing needs to be radically changed or altered given the performance of the defense over the past several seasons. Don Brown may be gone, but Hughes is going into his 13th season at UConn and worked with Brown the past two seasons, so I can't imagine the Huskies will all of a sudden radically change their scheme or philosophy.

Secondly, Hughes served as defensive coordinator previously at UConn, under then-coach Randy Edsall from 2002-05. Then from 2005-10, he was assistant coach for defense. All the while, he coached the defensive line -- a unit that continually produced special players including Kendall Reyes, Trevardo Williams, Cody Brown, Rhema Fuller and Deon McPhee. In 2011, UConn ranked No. 4 in the nation in rushing defense.

Finally, his defenses have gotten results. Under Hughes, UConn led the Big East in total defense in 2004, 2005 and 2008. The Huskies were No. 1 again in 2012. Having Hughes assume coordinator duties again allows the Huskies to carry on with what they know, without having to undergo a major staff shakeup on the strongest part of the team.

The Huskies formally announced one other coaching move: receivers coach Matt Cersosimo moves to cornerbacks coach.

Here is the new-look staff:
  • George DeLeone, associate head coach, offensive line
  • T.J. Weist, offensive coordinator, receivers
  • Hank Hughes, defensive coordinator, defensive line
  • Kermit Buggs, special teams coordinator, running backs
  • Matt Cersosimo, cornerbacks, recruiting coordinator
  • Shane Day, quarterbacks
  • Mike Foley, tight ends
  • Darrell Perkins, Safeties
  • Jon Wholley, linebackers

Big East coaching change scorecard

February, 26, 2010
In a world of constant job changes, you need a scorecard just to keep up with who is on the sidelines. So here is your guide to all the coaching changes this offseason in the Big East:



Head coach Butch Jones (from Central Michigan)

Steve Stripling, assistant head coach/defensive line (from Central Michigan)

Mike Bajakian, offensive coordinator/quarterbacks coach (from Central Michigan)

Tim Banks, co-defensive coordinator (from Central Michigan)

Jon Jancek, co-defensive coordinator/linebackers (from Georgia)

Mark Elder, running backs/recruiting coordinator (from Central Michigan)

Don Mahoney, offensive line (from Central Michigan)

T.J. Weist, wide receivers (from Western Kentucky)

Phil Zacharias, tight ends/special teams coordinator (from Central Michigan)


Head coach Brian Kelly and his entire staff except for Kerry Coombs, associate head coach/defensive backs coach



Jon Wholley, tight ends (from Fordham)

Darrell Perkins, defensive backs (from Louisiana-Monroe)


Dave McMichael, tight ends (to West Virginia)

Scott Lakatos, defensive backs (to Georgia)



Head coach Charlie Strong (from Florida)

Vance Bedford, defensive coordinator (from Florida)

Mike Sanford, assistant head coach/offensive coordinator (from UNLV)

Dave Borberly, offensive line (from Virginia)

Kenny Carter, running backs (from Florida)

Ron Dugans, wide receivers (from Georgia Southern)

Mike Groh, quarterbacks (from Alabama)

Clintt Hurtt, defensive line/recruiting coordinator (from Miami)

Brian Jean-Mary, linebackers (from Georgia Tech)


Head coach Steve Kragthorpe and his entire staff except for Larry Slade, secondary



Bernard Clark, linebackers (Hampton)

Scott Turner, wide receivers (promoted from administrative role)


Joe Tumpkin, linebackers (to Central Michigan)

Bryan Bossard, wide receivers (not retained)



Phil Galiano, tight ends (from Florida International)

Randy Melvin, defensive line (from Temple)

P.J. Fleck, receivers (from Northern Illinois)


Gary Emanuel, defensive line (to Purdue)

Joe Susan, tight ends/recruiting coordinator (to Bucknell)

Brian Jenkins, wide receivers (to Bethune Cookman)



Head coach Skip Holtz (from East Carolina)

Rick Smith, assistant head coach/defensive backs

Mark Snyder, defensive coordinator/linebackers (from Marshall)

Todd Fitch, offensive coordinator (from East Carolina)

Vernon Hargreaves, special teams coordinator/defensive ends

Peter Vaas, quarterbacks

Steve Shankweiler, offensive line (from East Carolina)


Head coach Jim Leavitt (fired)

Mike Canales, offensive coordinator (not retained)

Joe Tresey, defensive coordinator (not retained)

David Blackwell, linebackers/co-defensive coordinator (not retained)

Mike Simmonds, offensive line (not retained)

John Hendrick, special teams (not retained)

New role:

Kevin Patrick, from defensive line coach to defensive tackles

Carl Franks, from running backs coach to administrative position



Rob Moore, receivers (from Phoenix Junior College)

Tyrone Wheatley, running backs (from Eastern Michigan)

Jimmy Brumbaugh, defensive line (from Louisiana Tech)

Nathaniel Hackett, quarterbacks (from Buffalo Bills)


Rob Spence, offensive coordinator (not retained)

Derrick Jackson, defensive line (not retained)

Jamie Elizondo, receivers (not retained)

Stan Drayton, running backs (to Florida)

New role:

Head coach Doug Marrone will serve as offensive coordinator



Dave McMichael, tight ends/special teams co-coordinator (from Connecticut)


Doc Holliday, associate head coach/tight ends/recruiting coordinator (to Marshall)