NCF Nation: Davey O'Brien Award

1. I filled out ballots for two awards on Monday. The Lombardi Award will announce 12 semifinalists but it asked me for only four players (They must not like to count too many names). My choices: Purdue defensive tackle Ryan Kerrigan, who has played with too little help from his teammates, four-time SEC weekly award winner Nick Fairley, the Auburn defensive tackle, Iowa defensive end Adrian Clayborn and Clemson sackmaster Da’Quan Bowers.

2. The Davey O’Brien Award voters picked 16 semifinalists. My fellow voters and I do not hew closely to passing efficiency statistics. Three of the top 10 in that category -- Tyrod Taylor of Virginia Tech, Greg McElroy of Alabama and Dan Persa of Northwestern -- failed to make the list. The least efficient semifinalist? Landry Jones of Oklahoma (34th). The Sooners are talented, young, and based on Saturday night, a year away from seriously contending for No. 1. The same goes for Jones and the O’Brien.

3. Mack Brown called out his Texas players and assistants for being self-satisfied. It’s not as if Brown didn’t know this might happen. He saw it in 2006, the year after the Longhorns won the BCS. Players who won rings as backups may think that they earned them when, in fact, many of them watched from the sideline. After Florida won in 2006, Urban Meyer called Brown looking for advice. Meyer had trouble anyway. Coaches learn year after year. But players will always be 19. They must learn how to block, tackle and handle success.

Suh, McCoy combine for seven awards

December, 10, 2009
There was a decided Big 12 influence Thursday night as Colt McCoy and Ndamukong Suh accounted for seven awards during the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards show Thursday night.

McCoy capped the festivities by earning the Maxwell Award. Earlier, he earned the Walter Camp Football Foundation's Player of the Year and the Davey O'Brien Award.

Suh claimed the Outland Trophy and the Chuck Bednarik Award and had earlier been presented with the Bronko Nagurski Award and the Vince Lombardi/Rotary Award.

McCoy beat out Alabama running back Mark Ingram and Florida quarterback Tim Tebow for the Maxwell Award -- the final award presented during Thursday's awards show.

"Tim and Mark are two great candidates and are well deserving of this award," McCoy said. "I'm very humble."

McCoy talked about how excited he is to play in the Citi Bowl Championship Series National Championship on Jan. 7.

"That's something very special, something me and our seniors have worked for four years," McCoy said. "Obviously, we know we have our hands full with Alabama and their offense, defense and special teams. They are very well-coached and are a tremendous football team. But we're really excited about it."

McCoy claims Davey O'Brien Award

December, 10, 2009
Texas quarterback Colt McCoy received the first award presented at the The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards show when he won the Davey O’Brien Award.

McCoy beat out Case Keenum of Houston and Tim Tebow of Florida. He becomes the second consecutive Big 12 winner after Oklahoma’s Sam Bradford won last season.

He becomes the second Texas quarterback winner, joining Vince Young in 2005.

McCoy said his team is excited about his team’s upcoming challenge of competing against Alabama in the Jan. 7 BCS title game – particularly after his team’s narrow victory over Nebraska in the Big 12 title game.

“We wanted to be one more second better this year,” McCoy said. “We brought it down the line and took it a little close, but we’re in the national championship (game) and we’re fired up.”

The Texas quarterback deflected personal praise for the award in honor of his teammates.

“Our team has done so much this year,” McCoy said. “We started off a little slow but we were able to come together. It just shows how great of coaches we have. Our teammates are really close. It’s been a fun year and we’re thankful we’re where we are.”

Wrap-up from awards show

December, 11, 2008

Posted by's Tim Griffin

The Big 12 had a good night at the Home Depot/ESPNU College Football Awards Show, featuring seven players and coaches who claimed eight different awards.

Here's a list of the Big 12's winners, some whom were recognized on the stage and others who weren't.

  • Sam Bradford, Oklahoma quarterback, Davey O'Brien Award.
  • Michael Crabtree, Texas Tech wide receiver, Biletnikoff Award.
  • Colt McCoy, Texas quarterback, Walter Camp Player of the Year.
  • Matt Fodge, Oklahoma State punter, Ray Guy Award.
  • Chase Coffman, Missouri tight end, John Mackey Award.
  • Brian Orakpo, Texas defensive end, Nagurski Award and Rotary Lombardi Award.
  • Kevin Wilson, Oklahoma offensive coordinator, Frank Broyles Award.

The Big 12 was shut out in the final presentation of the evening when Florida quarterback Tim Tebow nosed past Texas Tech quarterback Graham Harrell and McCoy for the Maxwell Award.

All of these awards serve as a prelude to the Heisman Trophy and a mere appetizer for Saturday's presentation in New York City. I can't wait for the main course.