NCF Nation: Home-Depot-Awards-2011

Big Ten awards update

December, 9, 2011
"The Home Depot College Football Awards" show last night is in the books, and several Big Ten players were recognized for their efforts this season.

Here's a quick roundup:


Michigan's David Molk won the award as the nation's top center. He becomes the third Big Ten center to win the Rimington Trophy since 2004 and the first Michigan player to do so since David Baas shared the award in 2004.

Molk was a first-team All-Big Ten selection and claimed Big Ten Offensive Lineman of the Year honors.

Wisconsin's Peter Konz also was a finalist for the award.


First team
  • Michigan center David Molk
  • Illinois defensive end Whitney Mercilus
  • Penn State defensive tackle Devon Still
  • Michigan State defensive tackle Jerel Worthy
Second team
  • Wisconsin running back Montee Ball
  • Wisconsin guard Kevin Zeitler
  • Nebraska linebacker Lavonte David

Ball deserved the first-team nod over Oregon's LaMichael James, but at least he appears on the second team. Konz also should have appeared, as he was arguably the nation's top center until dislocating his ankle Nov. 12 at Minnesota. Mercilus becomes Illinois' first Walter Camp All-American since linebackers Simeon Rice and Kevin Hardy were recognized in 1995.

  • Wisconsin's Ball lost out to Alabama's Trent Richardson for the Doak Walker Award (nation's top running back). Although Ball had superior stats to Richardson, he only gained national recognition later in the season, which might have cost him. Both are great backs, but Ball was certainly deserving of the Doak. Who knows? Maybe he'll return in 2012 and win it.
  • Penn State's Still lost out to LSU cornerback Tyrann Mathieu for the Bednarik Award (nation's top defender)
  • Still lost out to Alabama offensive lineman Barrett Jones for the Outland Trophy (nation's top interior lineman). I thought Still had a better shot at the Outland than the Bednarik, as Mathieu has been so electric this season. Jones, who has played several offensive line positions for the Tide, is a strong choice. The Lions star will learn Monday whether or not he'll win the Bronko Nagurski Trophy.

Luck wins Maxwell Award

December, 8, 2011
Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck won the Maxwell Award at "The Home Depot College Football Awards" show, beating out Boise State quarterback Kellen Moore and Alabama running back Trent Richardson.

The Maxwell Award is given to the best all-around player in college football.

"I feel a lot of pride for this award, to have tangible evidence for all of the work on the practice field," Luck said.

Earlier in the evening, Luck missed out on the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award, which went to Baylor's Robert Griffin III. Houston's Case Keenum was the other finalist.

Stanford offensive guard David DeCastro was beat out for the Outland Trophy -- which goes to the nation's top interior lineman -- by Alabama offensive tackle Barrett Jones of Alabama. Penn State defensive tackle Devon Still was the third finalist.

In typical Luck fashion, he praised his coaches and teammates for his success.

"(Give credit) to a great scheme," Luck said. "The coaches put us in a great situation and it's trusting the offensive line, the running backs and the wide receivers to make plays. It all comes with practice time."

Randy Bullock wins the Groza Award

December, 8, 2011
Texas A&M's Randy Bullock won the Groza Award as the nation's top kicker on Thursday night during "The Home Depot College Football Awards" show.

Bullock led the nation with 25 field goals made on 29 attempts, and is the first Texas A&M player to ever win the Groza Award.

He's the second consecutive Big 12 player to win the Groza Award after Oklahoma State's Dan Bailey won the award last year.

Bullock beat out Florida's Caleb Sturgis and Florida State's Dustin Hopkins.

Chalk it up as a win for the Aggies over their future SEC opponents, the Gators.
Oklahoma State receiver Justin Blackmon won the Biletnikoff Award on Thursday night for the second consecutive year during "The Home Depot College Football Awards" show.

The Cowboys star becomes the second player in college football history to repeat as the Biletnikoff winner, after Texas Tech's Michael Crabtree in 2007 and 2008.

He's already the second Big 12 player to take home an award tonight, after Baylor quarterback Robert Griffin III won the Davey O'Brien Award.

Like Griffin, Blackmon's award is well-deserved. He's been the best receiver in the nation this year, and he's now been rewarded for his efforts.

He caught 113 passes for 1,336 yards and 15 touchdowns, helping Oklahoma State win 11 games and a Big 12 title, earning a trip to the Fiesta Bowl against Stanford.

Blackmon and Crabtree are not only the lone two-time winners, they're the only players in Big 12 history to win the award, which began in 1994.

Blackmon beat out Oklahoma's Ryan Broyles and USC's Robert Woods for the honor.
Baylor quarterback Robert Griffin III got off to a nice start, winning the opening award of "The Home Depot College Football Awards" show.

He beat out Case Keenum and Andrew Luck to win the Davey O'Brien Award as the nation's top quarterback.

Griffin is the first O'Brien winner in Baylor's history and the first from the Big 12 since Colt McCoy in 2009. A Big 12 quarterback has won the award in seven of the past 11 seasons.

He broke the NCAA record for passing efficiency this year and threw for 3,998 yards, 36 touchdowns and six interceptions.

A well-deserved honor for the program-changing Bear.