NCF Nation: Ray Guy Award

Ray Guy Award watch list

August, 5, 2009

Posted by staff

Here are the punters on the watch list for the 2009 Ray Guy Award:

Bryan Anger (So.), California

Ben Armer (So.), Western Michigan

Travis Baltz (Jr.), Maryland

Matt Dodge (Sr.), East Carolina

Ryan Donahue (Jr.), Iowa

Derek Epperson (Jr.), Baylor

Chas Henry (Jr.), Florida

Zoltan Mesko (Sr.), Michigan

Ross Thevenot (Sr.), Tulane

Wrap-up from awards show

December, 11, 2008

Posted by's Tim Griffin

The Big 12 had a good night at the Home Depot/ESPNU College Football Awards Show, featuring seven players and coaches who claimed eight different awards.

Here's a list of the Big 12's winners, some whom were recognized on the stage and others who weren't.

  • Sam Bradford, Oklahoma quarterback, Davey O'Brien Award.
  • Michael Crabtree, Texas Tech wide receiver, Biletnikoff Award.
  • Colt McCoy, Texas quarterback, Walter Camp Player of the Year.
  • Matt Fodge, Oklahoma State punter, Ray Guy Award.
  • Chase Coffman, Missouri tight end, John Mackey Award.
  • Brian Orakpo, Texas defensive end, Nagurski Award and Rotary Lombardi Award.
  • Kevin Wilson, Oklahoma offensive coordinator, Frank Broyles Award.

The Big 12 was shut out in the final presentation of the evening when Florida quarterback Tim Tebow nosed past Texas Tech quarterback Graham Harrell and McCoy for the Maxwell Award.

All of these awards serve as a prelude to the Heisman Trophy and a mere appetizer for Saturday's presentation in New York City. I can't wait for the main course.