Three non-AQ punters on Ray Guy watch list

Posted by ESPN.com's Graham Watson
Three players from the non-AQ schools were named to the 2009 Ray Guy Award watch list. The Ray Guy Award is presented to the nation's top punter.

Western Michigan's Ben Armer, East Carolina's Matt Dodge and Tulane's Ross Thevenot were three of nine players on the watch list.

Armer averaged 40.6 yards per punt as a redshirt freshman in 2008 and had 11 punts of 50 yards or longer. Dodge averaged 43.9 yards per punt, ranking him No. 14 nationally and second among all Conference USA punters. Thevenot was the top punter in Conference USA and ranked second nationally with a 45.80 average in 2008. He also had 15 punts of 50 or more yards and had a long of 71 yards.

The watch list will be narrowed to 10 semi-finalists in mid-November and ultimately narrowed to three finalists. The winner will be announced live during the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show, which airs Dec. 10 on ESPN.

2009 Ray Guy Award Watch List Selections

Bryan Anger, California, Sophomore
Ben Armer, Western Michigan, Sophomore
Travis Baltz, Maryland, Junior
Matt Dodge, East Carolina, Senior
Ryan Donahue, Iowa, Junior
Derek Epperson, Baylor, Junior
Chas Henry, Florida, Junior
Zoltan Mesko, Michigan, Senior
Ross Thevenot, Tulane, Senior