NCF Nation: Russell Maryland

1. Big Ten commissioner Jim Delany, a very smart guy, suggested Tuesday at the conference’s spring meetings that the Big Ten should consider putting more money in the pockets of its student-athletes. The AQs, nearly all of whom have lucrative new TV contracts, may be able to afford this. The non-AQs almost surely can’t. If this idea is the first step toward a new, big-money NCAA division. ...

2. ... Wouldn’t that end any antitrust questions regarding access to the BCS? NCAA president Mark Emmert, in his response Wednesday to the U.S. Dept. of Justice, suggested nicely that its questions regarding antitrust and a college football playoff be directed to the schools in the BCS. Emmert validated what the rest of us understood -- by going to the NCAA, the government wasted a 44-cent stamp and a few weeks.

3. Former Miami defensive tackle Russell Maryland, a member of the College Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2011, described Tuesday at a New York press conference how he rose from having one I-AA scholarship offer -- Indiana State -- to receiving the sport’s highest honor. He spoke with genuine awe and gratitude. And as emcee Charles Davis read bios of the 16 inductees, Maryland walked off the dais and stood in front of the monitor facing the media to watch the highlights. Maryland, still completely without ego, is a fan, too.

Video: HOF inductee Russell Maryland

May, 18, 2011

Ivan Maisel talks with Russell Maryland about his election to the College Football Hall of Fame.

Video: College Football Hall of Fame

May, 17, 2011

Lloyd Carr, Marty Lyons and Russell Maryland talk about being elected to the College Football Hall of Fame.
Former Miami defensive tackle Russell Maryland earned the nickname “The Conscience,” because he was a graduate student in psychology and once said he hated to give people wrong advice and make bad decisions.

One of the best decisions Maryland ever made was turning down what likely would have been a lucrative professional contract to return for his senior season at Miami in 1990. That year, he had 96 tackles, 10.5 sacks, seven tackles for loss, 19 quarterback pressures, five forced fumbles and two pass breakups. He became the first Miami player to win the coveted Outland Trophy as the nation’s top interior lineman. And now, he is one of two former ACC players -- along with Florida State defensive back Deion Sanders -- to be inducted into the 2011 FBS College Football Hall of Fame Class.

One of Maryland’s most memorable performances came against Texas in the 1991 Cotton Bowl, when Maryland had three sacks and nine tackles in UM's 46-3 win. He helped the Hurricanes win two national titles, and is a member of Miami’s Athletic Hall of Fame. He finished his Miami career with 279 tackles, 25 tackles for loss and 20.5 sacks. He was the first player chosen in the NFL draft by the Dallas Cowboys and was part of three Super Bowl championships.

Posted by's Heather Dinich

The 2009 College Football Hall of Fame ballot was released on Tuesday, and the ACC has nine candidates from seven different schools. The newest members will be announced live on ESPNEWS at a noon press conference in New York City on April 30 and inducted at The National Football Foundation's Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 8, 2009, at the Waldorf-Astoria hotel in New York City. They will be officially enshrined at the Hall of Fame in South Bend, Ind., in the summer of 2010.

Here are the representatives from the ACC, along with the full release, which includes short bios about each one:

Dennis Byrd -- North Carolina State, defensive tackle (1964-67)

Marco Coleman -- Georgia Tech, linebacker (1989-91)

Gary Collins -- Maryland, wide receiver (1958-61)

Clarkston Hines -- Duke, wide receiver (1986-89)

Russell Maryland -- Miami, defensive tackle (1986-90)

Deion Sanders -- Florida State, defensive back (1985-88)

Pat Swilling -- Georgia Tech, defensive end (1982-85)

Lawrence Taylor -- North Carolina, linebacker (1977-80)

Gino Torretta -- Miami, quarterback (1989-92)