NCF Nation: Stephen Williams

Non-AQ helmet stickers: Week 1

September, 6, 2009

Posted by’s Graham Watson

Max Hall, QB, BYU: BYU’s embattled quarterback completed 9 of 10 passes on the final series and led his team 78 yards on the game-winning drive in the Cougars' 14-13 upset of No. 3 Oklahoma.

Joe Webb, QB, UAB: Completed 12 of 15 passes for 221 yards and two touchdowns and rushed 20 times for 194 yards and two touchdowns in a 44-24 win over conference foe Rice.

Charles Sims, WR, Houston: In his first collegiate game, Sims caught six passes for 128 yards and a touchdown in a 55-7 win over Northwestern State.

Ricky Dobbs, QB, Navy: Completed 9-of-13 passes for 152 yards and two touchdowns and rushed for 83 yards and two touchdowns against No. 6 Ohio State.

Riley Dodge, QB, North Texas: Completed 23-of-33 passes for 216 yards and rushed for 73 yards to give North Texas a 20-10 win in his first collegiate start at quarterback.

Rock Dennis, S, SMU: Had two interceptions, a fumble recovery and eight tackles in SMU’s season opening win against Stephen F. Austin. It was SMU’s first win in a season opener since 2000.

Because I have so many players to cover, I added an others receiving votes category:

David Reed, WR, Utah: Had 10 catches for 172 yards and a touchdown in a 35-17 win over Utah State.

Cody Slate, TE, Marshall: Caught nine passes for 114 yards and two touchdowns to surpass former Marshall tight end Sean Doctor for the most receiving yards by a tight end in Marshall Football history.

Boise State’s defense: Held No. 16 Oregon to 152 yards of total offense, including no first downs in the first half, and forced two turnovers en route to a 19-8 Boise State win.

Robert Turbin, QB, Utah State: His 96-yard TD rush set a school-record for longest rushing play and tied the longest offensive play in school history.

Stephen Williams, WR, Toledo: Had 15 catches for 185 yards and two touchdowns, but the Rockets fell 52-31 to Purdue.
Posted by's Graham Watson

The Biletnikoff Award watch list was recently released and 18 players from the nonautomatic qualifying schools made the cut.

The award goes to the nation's best collegiate receiver.

Three players from the non-AQ schools have won the award, but none this decade. Wyoming's Marcus Harris won in 1996, Randy Moss of Marshall won in 1997 and Troy Edwards from Louisiana Tech won in 1998.

Several players have been finalists, though, including Rice's Jarett Dillard in 2006, Ball State's Dante Ridgeway in 2004 and Nevada's Nate Burleson in 2002.

Both Conference USA and the Mid-American Conference lead the non-AQ's with five nominees each.

The winner of the 17th Biletnikoff Award will be announced as part of ESPN's College Football Awards Show on Dec. 10. The award will be officially presented to the winner at the annual Biletnikoff Award dinner, hosted by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club, on Feb. 12, 2010.

Kris Adams, UTEP
Seyi Ajirotutu, Fresno State
Antonio Brown, Central Michigan
DeAndre Brown, Southern Miss
Tyron Carrier, Houston
Cortez Gent, Florida Atlantic
Rashaun Greer, Colorado State
T.Y. Hilton, Florida International
Jerrel Jernigan, Troy
Damaris Johnson, Tulsa
Dennis Pitta, BYU
Taylor Price, Ohio
Aldrick Robinson, SMU
Naaman Roosevelt, Buffalo
Greg Salas, Hawaii
Jacory Stone, Eastern Michigan
Stephen Williams, Toledo
Ryan Wolfe, UNLV