- Michael Woods, Boxing
- 0 Shares
Boxing's resident Twitter King Paulie Malignaggi got it done Saturday night at the Staples Center, and lo and behold, was back on the Twitter an hour after he scored a unanimous decision over ultra-game Orlando Lora.
The California resident, who moved from Bensonhurst to the West Coast last year, to rejuvenate his career, posted a pic of himself in the dressing room after he notched his 30th win as a pro.
Malignaggi got buzzed in the first by a clean Lora right hand, but collected himself, and won by scores of 100-90, 99-91, 98-92. His bout opened the pay-per-view broadcast, which was headlined by the abbreviated Bernard Hopkins-Chad Dawson light heavyweight scrap. That ended in the second round, when Dawson dumped the 46-year-old Hopkins on his back with an NFL-type tackle, and Hopkins complained that his left shoulder was hurt. He grimaced and pointed to the shoulder, and ref Pat Russell took his cue. He ended the bout at 2:48 of the second, but surprised most everyone in the building when he declared that no foul occurred. Therefore, he called for a TKO, and raised Dawson's hand.
The unified rules of the sport address this situation.
1. If an accidental foul causes an injury severe enough for the referee to stop the bout immediately, the bout will result in a NO DECISION if stopped before four (4) completed rounds. Four (4) rounds are complete when the bell rings signifying the end of the fourth round.
A No Decision seemingly looked like the best call, but Russell had final say. He could have called a foul on Dawson and followed this rule.
1. If an intentional foul causes an injury, and the injury is severe enough to terminate the bout immediately, the boxer causing the injury shall lose by disqualification.
Boxing fans are quite familiar with bizarre endings and discussing what looks and smells like incompetence on the part of officials in the days following marquee events, so they are well acquainted with going to bed shaking their head at the theater of the unexpected.