Lavin, Hardy honored by USBWA

March, 16, 2011
DENVER -- St. John's coach Steve Lavin and senior guard Dwight Hardy have both been honored by the United States Basketball Writers Association.

Lavin was named the Coach of the Year, and Hardy the Player of the Year, in District II (encompassing New York, New Jersey, Delaware, Washington, D.C., Pennsylvania and West Virginia.

Hardy is the team's leading scorer, averaging 18.0 points per game, and was also named first-team All-Big East and a Wooden Award finalist.

In his first year at the school, Lavin has piloted St. John's to a 21-11 record, a tie for third in the Big East conference, and its first NCAA tournament bid since 2002.
Kieran Darcy is an staff writer. He joined ESPN in August 2000 after graduating from the University of Pennsylvania, where he played four years of JV basketball.
Follow Kieran on Twitter »



You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?