Teams waive players to prepare for lockout

September, 14, 2012
With a lockout looming this weekend, the Rangers, Devils and Islanders waived several players in a move designed to allow them to play in the American Hockey League during the work stoppage.

NHL commissioner Gary Bettman secured a unanimous vote in approval of a league-imposed lockout at Thursday's Board of Governors meeting if no deal is reached Saturday at midnight, when the current collective bargaining agreement expires.

Below is a list of those players:

Rangers: Sean Collins, Tommy Grant, Micheal Haley, Chad Kolarik, Kris Newbury, Logan Pyett, Brandon Segal, Mike Vernace.

Devils: Matt Anderson, Bobby Butler, Jeff Frazee, Jay Leach, Tim Sestito, Chad Wiseman, Steve Zalewski.

Islanders: Sean Backman, Colin McDonald, Nathan McIver, Matt Watkins, Ty Wishart.
Katie Strang covers the NHL for She is a graduate of Michigan State University and the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism.
Follow Katie on Twitter »  Chat archive »



You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?