Mets no-show in Gold Gloves

The Mets did not have any representatives among the National League Gold Glove award winners announced Wednesday, marking the second straight season with no representation.

Mark Simon noted in this season-in-review piece that first baseman Ike Davis finished second in the majors behind Oakland’s Daric Barton, in +/- rating (the ability to turn batted balls his way into outs), and Runs Saved (combining his +/- with his bunt defense).

Albert Pujols won at first base. The other winners: pitcher Bronson Arroyo, catcher Yadier Molina, second baseman Brandon Phillips, shortstop Troy Tulowitzki, third baseman Scott Rolen and outfielders Michael Bourn, Carlos Gonzalez and Shane Victorino.

In Mets history, nine different players have won at least one Gold Glove: Tommie Agee (1970), Bud Harrelson (1971), Doug Flynn (1980), Keith Hernandez (1983, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88), Ron Darling (1989), Rey Ordonez (1997, 98, 99), Robin Ventura (1999), Carlos Beltran (2006, 07, 08), David Wright (2007, 08).

Read the 2010 Gold Glove news story here.