Print and Go Back New York Mets [Print without images]

Sunday, October 3, 2010
Game 162: Nationals @ Mets

By Adam Rubin

The season has ended. Nats 2, Mets 1 in 14 innings. The Mets finish at 79-83.

From ESPN Stats & Information:  Oliver Perez finished 0-5. The only other Met ever to finish a season 0-and-(5-or-more) was John Franco who posted an 0-8 in 1998. Perez is only the second Met ever to get a loss while giving up three-plus walks, one-plus HBP's and zero hits. Scott Schoeneweis did it in June of 2008 (although one of his walks was intentional).
 5:12 p.m.: Oliver Perez hits a batter and walks three while retiring only one batter. Pat Misch enters with the Nationals leading, 2-1, and the bases still loaded in the 14th.

4:57 p.m.: Oliver Perez enters for the 14th.

4:44 p.m.: The Mets and Nationals head to the 13th tied at 1.

3:35 p.m.: Jerry Manuel pulls David Wright and Jose Reyes after they take the field for the ninth inning to get them ovations. New entrants: Mike Hessman and Joaquin Arias.

3:03 p.m.: Mike Pelfrey departs after seven innings with the score tied at 1. Pelfrey finishes with a 15-9 record and 3.66 ERA.

2:24 p.m.: Josh Thole grounds into a double play in the fifth, but Angel Pagan scores as the Mets pull even at 1 against Livan Hernandez.

2:14 p.m.: The Nationals take a 1-0 lead in the fifth on Alberto Gonzalez's RBI single.

1:59 p.m.: Ike Davis produces the Mets' first hit -- a two-out single through the right side of the infield in the fourth inning.

1:43 p.m.: Mike Pelfrey has tossed three scoreless innings. He also has a new career high for strikeouts. No. 111 is Danny Espinosa.

1:25 p.m.: Mike Pelfrey ties his career-high for strikeouts by opening the second inning with his 110th K. The victim: Adam Dunn, who fanned for the 199th time this season. Still scoreless.

1:10 p.m.: Lineups:


Danny Espinosa, 2B
Nyjer Morgan, CF
Ian Desmond, SS
Adam Dunn, 1B
Roger Bernadina, LF
Ivan Rodriguez, C
Willie Harris, RF
Alberto Gonzalez, 3B
Livan Hernandez, RHP


Jose Reyes, SS
Jesus Feliciano, RF
David Wright, 3B
Ike Davis, 1B
Angel Pagan, CF
Lucas Duda, LF
Josh Thole, C
Ruben Tejada, 2B
Mike Pelfrey, RHP