Print and Go Back ESPN.com: NFC East [Print without images]

Tuesday, April 19, 2011
New York Giants schedule analysis

By Jeffri Chadiha

Breakdown: The New York Giants better keep their bags packed early. They open the season with three of their first four games on the road (against the Washington Redskins, Philadelphia Eagles and Arizona Cardinals). Granted, New York will face only one team with a winning record in its first seven games but that’s still a rough way to start the season. Nobody wants to spend that much time on the road so soon.

If that isn’t bad enough, the Giants will have plenty of tests from their non-divisional opponents. They’ve got road games against the New England Patriots, New Orleans Saints and the New York Jets and they face the Green Bay Packers in the first weekend in December. Correct me if I’m wrong but don’t the toughest schedules go to the teams that actually make the playoffs? The Giants might want to remind the league’s decision-makers of that if New York’s fortunes go south this fall.

Complaint department: The Giants’ season will be heavily impacted by what happens in late November and early December. In that four-game stretch they’ll face the winners of the last two Super Bowls (New Orleans and Green Bay) along with divisional rivals Philadelphia and Dallas. Good luck with that one.

Revenge factor: The last time the Giants and Patriots met -- in Super Bowl XLII -- New York pulled off one of the greatest upsets in NFL history. This contest clearly won’t have the same drama hanging over it, but it is the first meeting between these teams since that day. That alone should give it a nice storyline heading into what should be a fun watch.

Giants Regular-Season Schedule (All times Eastern)
Week 1: Sunday, Sep. 11, at Washington, 4:15 PM
Week 2: Monday, Sep. 19, St. Louis, 8:30 PM
Week 3: Sunday, Sep. 25, at Philadelphia, 1:00 PM
Week 4: Sunday, Oct. 2, at Arizona, 4:05 PM
Week 5: Sunday, Oct. 9, Seattle, 1:00 PM
Week 6: Sunday, Oct. 16, Buffalo, 1:00 PM
Week 7: BYE
Week 8: Sunday, Oct. 30, Miami, 1:00 PM
Week 9: Sunday, Nov. 6, at New England, 4:15 PM
Week 10: Sunday, Nov. 13, at San Francisco, 4:15 PM
Week 11: Sunday, Nov. 20, Philadelphia, 8:20 PM
Week 12: Monday, Nov. 28, at New Orleans, 8:30 PM
Week 13: Sunday, Dec. 4, Green Bay, 4:15 PM
Week 14: Sunday, Dec. 11, at Dallas, 8:20 PM
Week 15: Sunday, Dec. 18, Washington, 1:00 PM
Week 16: Saturday, Dec. 24, at NY Jets, 1:00 PM
Week 17: Sunday, Jan. 1, Dallas, 1:00 PM