|ESPN.com: NFC East||[Print without images]|
NFC director of communications Randall Liu forwarded the NFC East blog an explanation for Sunday night's call on the play Giants quarterback Eli Manning appeared to cross the line of scrimmage before delivering the ball to tight end Kevin Boss in the third quarter.
Rule 8, Section 1, Article 1, Note 3 of the NFL Rule Book states that "the penalty for a forward pass beyond the line is to be enforced from the spot where the ball is released when the passer's entire body and the ball are beyond the line of scrimmage. This includes either when the passer is airborne or touching the ground.
The instant replay review determined that Giants quarterback Eli Manning was not entirely beyond the line of scrimmage when he released the pass. Thus, the on-field ruling of an illegal forward pass was reversed by referee Terry McAulay. The result of the pass completion gave New York a first-and-goal at the Philadelphia three."
The NFL also wanted us to know that the red line used on the telecast to indicate the line of scrimmage isn't official.
"In reviewing the play, Terry McAulay relied on the position of the line-of-scrimmage marker held by the chain crew, which officially is located on the head linesman's side of the field."