NFC East: Harvey Martin

Allen's the next HOF'er for Cowboys

August, 6, 2010
ASHBURN, Va. -- I'll be returning to Redskins practice in a bit, but I couldn't help but notice that's Calvin Watkins blogged about who would be the next Cowboys player inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame. He mentions Charles Haley and Darren Woodson right out of the box, but I think there's a player who will beat both of them into the Hall.

In my mind, guard Larry Allen will be a first-ballot guy. He played the '07 season for the 49ers, so he's a few years away. But Allen's status as one of the greatest offensive lineman to ever play the game will make him a no-brainer. The painfully shy Allen is probably already nervous about his speech. I'll visit with Calvin here in a few minutes via phone to determine why he failed to mention such a remarkable player.

After Allen, I'd like to see Cliff Harris go in the Hall. He was an All-Decade player from the '70s and his contemporaries thought he was perhaps the best safety of his generation. The late defensive end Harvey Martin isn't mentioned enough, either. Either Deion Sanders or Allen will be the next Cowboy to go in. Sanders was somewhat of a mercenary, but he certainly made his time with the Cowboys count.

And I can't have this argument without at least mentioning how shameful it is that wide receiver Drew Pearson's not in the Ring of Honor. Jerry Jones' hesitancy to put him in is among the most curious things he's done as owner.

Who do you guys think will be the next Cowboys player in the Hall of Fame? Is there a former Redskins player who belongs in the Hall?

Best Cowboys Team Ever: 1993

June, 22, 2010
Notable players: QB Troy Aikman, RB Emmitt Smith, FB Daryl Johnston, WR Michael Irvin, G Nate Newton, C Mark Stepnoski, OT Erik Williams, TE Jay Novacek, DT Russell Maryland, LB Ken Norton, DE Charles Haley

Emmitt Smith
Tim Roberts/AFP/Getty ImagesEmmitt Smith held out to start the season, but once he returned, it all came together for the Cowboys.
Analysis: I could make the argument that the ’94 team that lost to the 49ers in the NFC title game was the best, but I’ll save that one for another day. In ’93, Jimmy Johnson and the Cowboys had an enormous target on their backs and the team began the season with Smith in a holdout. Disgusted by an 0-2 start without Smith, Jerry Jones quickly signed the running back to a new contract. The Cowboys ran off seven straight wins and finished the season 12-4.

Dallas sent 11 players to the Pro Bowl after the season, and they could’ve had a few more on defense. If not for Smith’s holdout, this was the type of team that might have made a run at a perfect season. The Triplets were unstoppable, and the Cowboys had perhaps the best offensive line in the league. The Roger Staubach teams of the '70s were formidable, but I just don’t think they were as deep as Johnson’s teams of the early '90s.

The Doomsday defense from the late '70s trumps the defense from the early '90s, but the Triplets surpassed what Staubach, Tony Dorsett and Drew Pearson accomplished.

Most impressive win: It’s too easy to say the Super Bowl, so give me the overtime victory in the Meadowlands over the Giants to end the regular season. The win gave the Cowboys the division title and a wild-card bye week. In that 16-13 win, Smith had one of the best individual efforts in club history. Playing with a separated shoulder, he rushed for 168 yards and caught 10 passes.

Best player: How can you not go with the guy who won the NFL’s MVP award, the Super Bowl MVP and the rushing title in the same season? Let’s go with Emmitt.

Honorable mention

1977: The Super Bowl champions were dominant on both sides of the ball. Dallas began the season 8-0. The Broncos didn’t belong on same field in the Super Bowl. Ed "Too Tall" Jones, Harvey Martin and Randy “Manster” White put the “Doom” in Doomsday.

1992: You almost forget how Jimmy Johnson could send waves of pass-rushers at quarterbacks. Tony Tolbert had more sacks than Haley in ’92. And Maryland and Leon Lett were just beginning to figure things out. The collection of talent was remarkable. The Triplets truly began to impose their will on opponents.

1971: Some of the great defensive players from the early days -- Bob Lilly, Chuck Howley, Lee Roy Jordan -- finally got their championship. The offense scored 29 points per game and the Cowboys won by an average of 13.1 points per game.

Pearson should be in the Ring of Honor

June, 26, 2009

Posted by's Matt Mosley

Cowboys owner Jerry Jones has said that no one will go in the Ring of Honor this season. And that's too bad. The opening of a new stadium would be a great time to do what Jones should've done years ago: put former wide receiver Drew Pearson in the Ring of Honor.

He was a huge part of what the Cowboys accomplished in the 1970s -- and he's the most deserving former player. Jones needs to put Pearson in before he starts updating the Ring with players from the 90s such as Darren Woodson and Larry Allen. 

Who do you guys think should be next? The late, great Harvey Martin? Ed "Too Tall" Jones? Charlie Waters