NFC North: Eric Zeier

Waiting on Berrian status

September, 13, 2009

Posted by’s Kevin Seifert

CLEVELAND -- Sign of the (economic) times: I saw a number of No. 10 Cleveland jerseys as I made my way to the stadium Sunday morning. Most of them said “Quinn” on the back. But I spotted one that said “Zeier.” (Last/only year for Eric Zeier in Cleveland: 1995.)

I’m perched here in the press box looking for signs of Minnesota receiver Bernard Berrian, who hasn’t been seen (on the field) since straining his hamstring in the Aug. 14 preseason opener at Indianapolis. So far, I haven’t seen him. In fact, one of the few Vikings players on the field is center John Sullivan, who is no doubt putting in last-minute preparations for matching up against Cleveland defensive tackle/monster Shaun Rogers.

The Vikings are required to report Berrian’s status at 11:30 a.m. ET. I’ll bring it to you as quickly after that as I can.

Finally, your trivia answer

May, 1, 2009
Posted by's Kevin Seifert

I didn't forget about ya. I'm just a bit, uh, delayed, in bringing you the answer to last weekend's trivia question.

On the occasion of Detroit's selection of Georgia quarterback Matthew Stafford with the No. 1 overall pick of the draft, we asked you to name the last Bulldog quarterback to make a Pro Bowl. Matt of Muncie was quick with a response.

The answer to your trivia is Fran "The Man" Tarkenton!

Tarkenton, drafted by Minnesota in 1961, was selected to nine Pro Bowls during his career with the Vikings and New York Giants. He and Stafford are two of seven Georgia quarterbacks to be drafted in the common era, according to research from ESPN Stats & Information.

Using's handy draft information sorter, you can easily find the other six. As it turns out, Tarkenton has been the only Georgia quarterback ever to make a Pro Bowl. I'm not planning an unfriendly takeover of Chris Low's SEC blog, but in the interest of full disclosure, here is the full list:

Georgia QBs drafted in the NFL
Year Team Player Round
1977 New York Jets Matt Robinson 9
1989 Indianapolis Wayne Johnson 11
1995 Cleveland Eric Zeier 3
2001 Dallas Quincy Carter 2
2005 Seattle David Greene 3
2006 Atlanta D.J. Shockley 7
2009 Detroit Matthew Stafford 1



Thursday, 9/4
Sunday, 9/7
Monday, 9/8