NFC South: Billy Sims

Let’s take a look at some statistical superlatives from Tampa Bay's 27-21 overtime victory against Carolina on Sunday, with some help from ESPN Stats & Information and the Buccaneers’ media relations department.
  • The Bucs have won four straight games and five of their last six after a 1-3 start.
  • Running back Doug Martin became just the fifth rookie in the Super Bowl era to have more than 1,300 yards from scrimmage through his first 10 games. He’s the first rookie to accomplish that since Adrian Peterson in 2007. Martin’s in good company. Aside from Peterson, the only other rookies to have more than 1,300 yards in their first 10 games are Eric Dickerson, Edgerrin James and Billy Sims.
  • Martin has gained 1,019 yards from scrimmage in his last six games and has joined Dickerson and James as the only rookies in NFL history to gain 1,000 yards in a six-game span.
  • Martin now has 1,000 rushing yards on the season. He seems destined to set the franchise record for most rushing yards by a rookie (1,178 by Cadillac Williams in 2005).
  • In the first 58 minutes and 58 seconds of regulation, quarterback Josh Freeman completed just two of 12 passes for 41 yards with no touchdowns and one interception on throws of more than 10 yards downfield. Over the rest of regulation and overtime, Freeman completed all four of his passes of similar distance for 74 yards with two touchdowns and no interceptions.
  • Freeman led the 10th fourth-quarter comeback of his career. His 152 passing yards in regulation and overtime were the most he has ever thrown for in a comeback victory in the fourth quarter and overtime.
  • Tight end Dallas Clark had his most productive game since joining the Bucs. He had a season-high seven catches for a season-high 58 yards and also scored the game-winning touchdown.
  • Defensive end Michael Bennett recorded his seventh sack of the season, which leads the team.
  • The Bucs had 10 tackles for a loss against the Panthers.
Nice nugget from ESPN Stats & Information on multiple Heisman Trophy winners selected in the same draft and this one has big NFC South implications.

With Cam Newton and Mark Ingram both selected in the first round Thursday night, the 2011 draft marked just the seventh draft since 1967 in which more than one Heisman Trophy winner has entered the league in the same year.

Newton was picked No. 1 overall and he was college football’s Heisman Trophy winner last season. Ingram was taken at No. 28, after the Saints traded back into the first round to get him. Ingram won the Heisman in the 2009 college season.

The feat also happened in last year’s draft, when Sam Bradford and Tim Tebow both came with the trophy. Prior to that, Reggie Bush and Matt Leinart came in together in 2006.

Beyond that, there was a much bigger gap in the time frame. Desmond Howard and Ty Detmer came in the 1992 draft. Vinny Testaverde and Bo Jackson were picked in the 1987 draft. Herschel Walker and Doug Flutie were selected in 1985. Billy Sims and Charles White were drafted in 1980.