NFC South: Dalton Hilliard

There will be two new members inducted into the Saints Hall of Fame this fall. Former safety Sammy Knight and longtime radio and television announcer Bruce Miller have been named as the newest selections.

Each NFC South team has some way of honoring its former players. For instance, the Bucs do it with their Ring of Honor, which, so far, includes only Lee Roy Selmon and John McKay.

We’ll see how long this lockout lasts, but I’m thinking if it drags into the middle of June or later, we might go ahead and do some Call It polls to let you select who belongs in the NFC South Hall of Fame. There’s no such thing right now, but, even if it’s just for fun, it might be a good time to start one.

Here’s a list of past inductees into the Saints Hall of Fame.
  • 1988 -- Archie Manning and Danny Abramowicz
  • 1989 -- Tommy Myers and Tom Dempsey
  • 1990 -- Billy Kilmer
  • 1991 -- Tony Galbreath and Derland Moore
  • 1992 -- George Rogers, Jake Kupp and John Hill
  • 1993 -- Joe Federspiel
  • 1994 -- Henry Childs and Jim Finks
  • 1995 -- Doug Atkins and Bob Pollard
  • 1996 -- Dave Whitsell and Dave Waymer
  • 1997 -- Stan Brock and Rickey Jackson
  • 1998 -- Dalton Hilliard and Sam Mills
  • 1999 -- Bobby Hebert and Eric Martin
  • 2000 -- Pat Swilling and Vaughan Johnson
  • 2001 -- Jim Wilks and Hoby Brenner
  • 2002 -- Jim Mora and Frank Warren
  • 2003 -- Jim Dombrowski and Wayne Martin
  • 2004 -- Rueben Mayes and Steve Sidwell
  • 2006 -- Joel Hilgenberg
  • 2007 -- Joe Johnson
  • 2008 -- William Roaf
  • 2009 -- Morten Andersen
  • 2010 -- Joe Horn
It’s already been a busy day in the NFC South and all around the NFL and that’s probably going to continue long into the night as we wait to see if there will be a labor lockout or perhaps an extension of the deadline for negotiations.

But things just got a little busier. The New Orleans Saints just sent out an announcement that the Saints Hall of Fame selection committee has selected the franchise’s all-time team as the franchise looks ahead to its 45th season. The committee is a collection of local media members and it selects an all-time Saints team every five years.

The latest version is out and here it is. Players with asterisks after their name were unanimous selections. The years after the players’ names indicate their time with the Saints.

  • Sean Payton (2006-present)

Saints honor alumni

November, 8, 2009
Posted by’s Pat Yasinskas

NEW ORLEANS -- The Saints just had a very nice pregame ceremony as part of their All Saints Weekend festivities.

The team celebrates the event every year and usually shoots to have it close to the anniversary of New Orleans being awarded a franchise. That happened on Nov. 1, 1966.

As part of the pregame ceremony, the Saints introduced a couple former players. Some of those who got the loudest ovations included Steve Gleason, Dalton Hilliard and Michael Lewis. The Saints also recognized Bobby Hebert, who wasn’t able to be on the field because he’s up here in the press box, performing his broadcasting duties for WWL radio.

Deuce moves into top spot in record book

November, 24, 2008

Posted by's Pat Yasinskas


If this is how it ends for Deuce McAllister -- and that's entirely possibly -- it's fitting.

The most popular player in New Orleans history just set the franchise record for touchdowns. McAllister's third-quarter plunge gave him 54 career touchdowns. That's one more than the previous record set by Dalton Hilliard.

McAllister got a huge ovation in the Superdome, but now you have to wonder if it's his last. With the possibility of a four-game suspension, age and a diminishing role hanging over McAllister's head, this was an emotional moment.

McAllister has been fighting a suspension for testing positive for a banned substance. If he's suspended after Sunday's game in Tampa Bay, this could be McAllister's last game in the Superdome.