With Haley gone, six new coordinators in division

February, 6, 2009

Posted by ESPN.com's Mike Sando

Todd Haley's departure from the Cardinals to become the Chiefs' head coach will give the NFC West six new coordinators for the 2009 season, including all four on offense.

Cardinals defensive coordinator Clancy Pendergast and 49ers defensive coordinator Greg Manusky are the division's only holdover coordinators from 2008 (update here). The yellow shading in the chart below shows open coaching positions in the NFC West.

Haley's hiring in Kansas City makes sense philosophically. His father, longtime scout Dick Haley, has a tremendous background in player personnel. The Chiefs' general manager, Scott Pioli, comes from New England, where he valued coach Bill Belichick's personnel knowledge.

Given family history, the younger Haley might be in better position than some coaching candidates to understand personnel and how personnel evaluators think. That might have made Haley a more comfortable fit for Pioli. The two also worked together previously, and they have strong ties to Bill Parcells, as has been widely reported.

What will the Cardinals do next? We touched on that late Thursday night. The Cardinals' intentions are not known at this time. The team released the following statement from coach Ken Whisenhunt:

"This is a tremendous opportunity for Todd and one that I know he is ready for. He was a big part of the offensive success that our team has had over the last two years. Todd is a smart, passionate coach who gets the very best out of players and those attributes will serve him well as a head coach. For us, it is flattering whenever your coaches are sought after and is a byproduct of the success our team has had. I think it speaks to the progress we have made and will continue to make as an organization. Obviously we knew this was a possibility and developed contingency plans. We now begin the process of activating those plans."

Cardinals 49ers Seahawks Rams
Head Coach Ken Whisenhunt
Mike Singletary
Jim Mora
Steve Spagnuolo
Off. Coord.
Jimmy Raye
Greg Knapp
Pat Shurmur
OL Russ Grimm
Chris Foerster
Mike Solari
Steve Loney
QB Jeff Rutledge
Mike Johnson
Bill Lazor
Dick Curl
WR Mike Miller
Jerry Sullivan
Robert Prince
Charlie Baggett
RB Maurice Carthon
Tom Rathman
Kasey Dunn
Sylvester Croom
TE Freddie Kitchens
Pete Hoener
Mike DeBord
Def. Coord.
C. Pendergast Greg Manusky
Gus Bradley
Ken Flajole
DL Ron Aiken
Jim Tomsula
Dan Quinn
Brendan Daly
LB Bill Davis
Zerick Rollins
DB Teryl Austin
Tim Lewis (unnamed)
Special Teams
Kevin Spencer
Al Everest
Bruce DeHaven
Tom McMahon



You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?