Seahawks schedule analysis

April, 14, 2009
4/14/09
7:11
PM ET

Posted by ESPN.com's Mike Sando

Breakdown: The Seahawks can gain immediate traction in the division by opening at home against the Rams before a short trip to San Francisco in Week 2. This is a terrific opening schedule for the Seahawks.

A road loss to Buffalo set an ominous tone to their 2008 season. Getting the Rams at home in the opener gives the Seahawks a much better chance to start quickly. They also get an early chance to avenge their 2008 Week 2 home loss to the 49ers. Both the Rams and 49ers are breaking in new head coaches and new offensive systems. That setup works to the Seahawks' advantage early in the season.

Seattle will need that early advantage because the schedule makers did Seattle few favors late in the season.

Complaint department: The NFL is sending Seattle on the road for three consecutive weeks in November, followed by a trip to Lambeau Field in December. That's rough, but that is only part of the problem for the Seahawks. The team plays six games at 10 a.m. PT, which means the league basically shrugged when Seattle and other West Coast teams complained about all the early starts. Seattle also failed to draw a prime-time game. How the NFC West's mighty have fallen.

Beneficial bye: The Seahawks' bye week comes after six games and at a good time for Seattle. The team will have a chance to tighten up in key areas after its initial run under Jim Mora. The break also gives Seattle an extra week to prepare for a road game against the Cowboys. Seattle was no match in Dallas last season.

Seahawks Regular Season Schedule (all times Eastern)

Week 1: Sunday, Sept. 13, ST. LOUIS RAMS, 4:15 p.m.
Week 2: Sunday, Sept. 20, at San Francisco 49ers, 4:05 p.m.
Week 3: Sunday, Sept. 27, CHICAGO BEARS, 4:05 p.m.
Week 4: Sunday, Oct. 4, at Indianapolis Colts, 1 p.m.
Week 5: Sunday, Oct. 11, JACKSONVILLE JAGUARS, 4:15 p.m.
Week 6: Sunday, Oct. 18, ARIZONA CARDINALS, 4:05 p.m., Fox
Week 7: BYE
Week 8: Sunday, Nov. 1, at Dallas Cowboys, 1 p.m., Fox
Week 9: Sunday, Nov. 8, DETROIT LIONS, 4:05 p.m., Fox
Week 10: Sunday, Nov. 15, at Arizona Cardinals, 4:15 p.m., Fox
Week 11: Sunday, Nov. 22, at Minnesota Vikings, 1 p.m., Fox
Week 12: Sunday, Nov. 29, at St. Louis Rams, 1 p.m., Fox
Week 13: Sunday, Dec. 6, SAN FRANCISCO 49ERS, 4:15 p.m., Fox
Week 14: Sunday, Dec. 13, at Houston Texans, 1 p.m., Fox
Week 15: Sunday, Dec. 20, TAMPA BAY BUCS, 4:15 p.m., Fox
Week 16: Sunday, Dec. 27, at Green Bay Packers, 1 p.m., Fox
Week 17: Sunday, Jan. 3, TENNESSEE TITANS, 4:15 p.m., CBS

SPONSORED HEADLINES

Comments

You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?

NFC WEST SCOREBOARD