Around the NFC West: Racking up awards

Alex Smith was named the NFC's offensive player of the week Wednesday.

The award was a career first for Smith.

Around the NFC West: Nov. 1, 2012

Somehow, that one slipped past me.

This is the sixth time in eight weeks the NFL has named an NFC West player as an offensive, defensive or special-teams player of the week.

NFC West players have won eight of the 24 awards.

The breakdown:

NFC West teams produced 12 winners last season. Arizona's Patrick Peterson and 49ers kicker David Akers each won twice. Eight others won one apiece: Ted Ginn Jr. (49ers), Willis (49ers), Lee (49ers), Robert Quinn (Rams), Fitzgerald (Cardinals), Clemons (Seahawks), David Hawthorne (Seahawks) and Doug Baldwin (Seahawks).