Seahawks to 49ers to Rams: Jenkins wins

The NFC's defensive player of the week hails from the NFC West for a third consecutive week and the sixth time in 12 weeks overall this season.

St. Louis Rams rookie cornerback Janoris Jenkins won the honors after returning two interceptions for touchdowns during a 31-17 victory over Arizona in Week 12. The San Francisco 49ers' Aldon Smith and the Seattle Seahawks' Richard Sherman won the award over the two previous weeks.

The NFC West has now accounted for 11 weekly award winners.

Recapping NFC West honors to this point in the season:

  • Week 2: Arizona's Calais Campbell wins defensive honors.

  • Week 3: Arizona's Larry Fitzgerald wins offensive honors while Seattle's Chris Clemons wins defensive honors.

  • Week 4: San Francisco's Patrick Willis (defense) and St. Louis' Greg Zuerlein (special teams) win honors.

  • Week 5: St. Louis punter Johnny Hekker wins special-teams honors.

  • Week 7: San Francisco's Andy Lee wins special-teams honors.

  • Week 8: San Francisco's Alex Smith wins offensive honors.

  • Week 10: Richard Sherman wins defensive honors.

  • Week 11: Aldon Smith wins defensive honors.

  • Week 12: Jenkins wins defensive honors.

Note: The 49ers also had two interception returns for touchdowns in Week 12. And, as the Rams noted, Jenkins is the third Rams rookie to win the honors this season.