Print and Go Back NFC West [Print without images]

Friday, December 5, 2008
Holmgren not alone in final-season struggles

By Mike Sando

Posted by's Mike Sando

Final Year
Super Bowl-winning Head Coach
2001George Seifert
2008Mike Holmgren
1999Mike Ditka
1988Tom Landry
1977Hank Stram
1973Weeb Ewbank
 Source: ESPN Stats & Information

Mike Holmgren has never lost more than 10 games in a season as an NFL head coach.

The Seahawks will have to win their final four games to make that statement hold up into the offseason.

The chart, updated since we last touched on the topic, shows Holmgren rocketing up the list of Super Bowl-winning coaches to suffer dismal records in their final seasons.

We still do not know if 2008 will mark Holmgren's final season as an NFL head coach. He plans to sit out the 2009 season. That would make him 62 years old heading into the 2010 season, young enough to make another run, albeit at the expense of time with the grandchildren.

Holmgren's teams have suffered losing records three times in his 17 seasons as a head coach. The Seahawks were 6-10 in 2000 and 7-9 in 2002.