Print and Go Back NFC West [Print without images]

Tuesday, January 6, 2009
NFC West penalty watch: Final 2008 leaders

By Mike Sando

Team NFC West Player Pos. Penalties Penalty Yards
STL Richie Incognito OL 13 89
ARI Deuce Lutui OL 12 70
ARI Kurt Warner QB 11 72
STL Alex Barron OL 11 51
SF Vernon Davis TE 9 69
SF Nate Clements DB 8 92
ARI Levi Brown OL 8 55
ARI Darnell Dockett DL 8 48
SF Ray McDonald DL 8 44
SEA Josh Wilson CB 8 32
ALL NFC WEST 446 2,870
Posted by's Mike Sando

We've been tracking declined and accepted penalties against NFC West players all season. The chart shows the final regular-season leaders -- all players with more than six penalties in 2008.

One name on the chart would have come as a surprise heading into the season. Cardinals quarterback Kurt Warner drew eight penalties for delay of game and three penalties for intentional grounding.

Warner accounted for 11 of 19 penalties against NFC West quarterbacks this season. The Cardinals spent quite a bit of time in the huddle, where Warner apparently has much information to dispense. That often leaves little time on the play clock. The costliest delay penalty against the Cardinals this season wiped out a touchdown pass to Ben Patrick during a 24-17 road loss to the Redskins.

While delay penalties fall on the quarterback's ledger, the Cardinals' problems in that area might be systemic. Backup Matt Leinart drew one delay penalty in each of the Cardinals' final two games.

Overall, the Seahawks finished with the fewest penalties in the division despite a flurry of penalties against their makeshift offensive line late in the season. Seattle's line committed 22 of its 29 penalties in the final eight games of the season, including nine in the regular-season finale at Arizona. Kyle Williams (three), Mansfield Wrotto (three), Ray Willis (two) and Na'Shan Goddard (two) combined for 10 in the final two games.

Most assessed penalties (league rank in parenthesis): Cardinals 107 (5), 49ers 98 (10), Rams 97 (11) and Seahawks 79 (23).