Print and Go Back NFC West [Print without images]

Thursday, November 1, 2012
Around the NFC West: Racking up awards

By Mike Sando

Alex Smith was named the NFC's offensive player of the week Wednesday.

The award was a career first for Smith.

Somehow, that one slipped past me.

This is the sixth time in eight weeks the NFL has named an NFC West player as an offensive, defensive or special-teams player of the week.

NFC West players have won eight of the 24 awards.

The breakdown:

NFC West teams produced 12 winners last season. Arizona's Patrick Peterson and 49ers kicker David Akers each won twice. Eight others won one apiece: Ted Ginn Jr. (49ers), Willis (49ers), Lee (49ers), Robert Quinn (Rams), Fitzgerald (Cardinals), Clemons (Seahawks), David Hawthorne (Seahawks) and Doug Baldwin (Seahawks).