Padraig Harrington misses out on U.S. Open spot as 13 qualify at Walton Heath

Padraig Harrington carded bogeys on his 35th and 36th holes to miss out by a single shot. Sam Greenwood/Getty Images

Ireland's three-time major champion Padraig Harrington was the highest-profile player to miss out on qualification for the U.S. Open after an agonising finish at Walton Heath.

Harrington, announced last week as one of Darren Clarke's vice-captains for this year's Ryder Cup, bogeyed his final two holes to miss out on the deciding playoff by a single shot.

English trio Andrew Johnston, Lee Slattery and Matthew Baldwin were among 13 players to earn places at Oakmont Country Club following the international sectional qualifier.

Johnston, born just a few miles from the Surrey golf club, delighted local crowds by clinching his spot in what will be his debut tournament in America and just his second major championship appearance. The 27-year-old is continuing to ride the wave that brought him a maiden European Tour title in Spain last month and a top 10 finish in his home event, the BMW PGA Championship, on Sunday.

Slattery and Baldwin both have previous U.S. Open experience having teed up at the Olympic Club in 2012. Slattery carded two rounds of 69 and Baldwin two rounds of 70 to qualify.

Frenchman Gregory Bourdy came out on top at Walton Heath after finishing two shots clear of Sweden's Mikael Lundberg.

Four-time European Tour winner Bourdy had hinted at having rediscovered his best form with strong finishes in Ireland and at Wentworth in the last two weeks, and the 34-year-old followed a 5-under-par 67 around the New Course in the morning with a 4-under-par 68 around the Old Course to head the 13 players earning spots at the U.S. Open, which begins on June 16.

Lundberg, a three-time European Tour winner, will make his major Championship debut after finishing on 7-under-par overall in cold and blustery conditions in Surrey.

Gary Stal, Romain Wattel, Alexander Noren, Peter Hanson, Matteo Manassero, also qualified outright.

Maximilian Kieffer, Soren Hansen and Sebastian Soderberg ousted Jeev Milkha Singh and Johan Edfors in the five-man playoff. Singh and Edfors will be first and second alternates for Oakmont.