Oakland Raiders schedule analysis


Breakdown: It the Raiders are going to break out of their seven-season abyss (they have lost at least 11 games in each season since 2003, an NFL record), they will do so by being fresh.

The Raiders don’t travel long distances for the much of the first 10 weeks of the season. After playing at Tennessee in Week 1, the Raiders don’t cross the country until Week 11 when they play at Pittsburgh. Oakland’s trips during the 10-week stretch (which includes the team’s bye week) are to Arizona, San Francisco and Denver.

Five of Oakland’s first nine games are at home. If the Raiders are going to improve, they must take advantage of the early portion of the season.

Complaint department: Oakland’s schedule gets tougher when it plays the Steelers. Oakland then plays Miami, San Diego, Jacksonville, Denver, Indianapolis and Kansas City. If the Raiders want to be in the AFC playoff race, they will have to handle their conference competition.

No prime time: Oakland is the only team in the AFC West not to have a prime-time game scheduled. Oakland has hosted a "Monday Night Football" game in three of the past four seasons. This year, Oakland doesn’t have a Sunday night or a Monday night game scheduled.

Raiders Regular Season Schedule (All times Eastern)

Week 1: Sunday, Sep. 12, at Tennessee, 1:00 PM

Week 2: Sunday, Sep. 19, St. Louis, 4:05 PM

Week 3: Sunday, Sep. 26, at Arizona, 4:15 PM

Week 4: Sunday, Oct. 3, Houston, 4:05 PM

Week 5: Sunday, Oct. 10, San Diego, 4:15 PM

Week 6: Sunday, Oct. 17, at San Francisco, 4:05 PM

Week 7: Sunday, Oct. 24, at Denver, 4:15 PM

Week 8: Sunday, Oct. 31, Seattle, 4:15 PM

Week 9: Sunday, Nov. 7, Kansas City, 4:15 PM

Week 10: BYE

Week 11: Sunday, Nov. 21, at Pittsburgh, 1:00 PM

Week 12: Sunday, Nov. 28, Miami, 4:05 PM

Week 13: Sunday, Dec. 5, at San Diego, 4:05 PM

Week 14: Sunday, Dec. 12, at Jacksonville, 1:00 PM

Week 15: Sunday, Dec. 19, Denver, 4:15 PM

Week 16: Sunday, Dec. 26, Indianapolis, 4:05 PM

Week 17: Sunday, Jan. 2, at Kansas City, 1:00 PM