San Diego Chargers schedule analysis

April, 20, 2010
4/20/10
8:43
PM ET
Breakdown: Norv Turner’s Chargers start very poorly and finish strong. It always seems to happen.

Last year, the Chargers started 2-3, but won the final 11 games of the regular season, an NFL high. The Chargers don’t start clicking until the early season is a memory.

This year, like every year, the Chargers want to change that trend. They will have a good opportunity. San Diego’s first six games are not a murderers’ row of opponents. San Diego plays only one 2009 playoff team (Arizona at home in Week 4) in the first six games before hosting New England in Week 7. If the Chargers can’t start fast this year, something is definitely wrong.

Complaint department: The Chargers have a pretty workable schedule. If there are any sticking points it’s that they finish the season with two road games against key AFC competition. The Chargers play at Cincinnati in a Sunday night game in Week 16 and end the season at Denver. Still, the Chargers will go into the two-game stretch with home games against Oakland, Kansas City and San Francisco (on a Thursday night) in Weeks 13-15.

More Monday Night Magic in Week 1? For the third time since 2006, the Chargers will play on the back end of a "Monday Night Football" doubleheader in Week 1. For the third straight time, San Diego will open the season on the road against a division foe. The Chargers play at Kansas City in Week 1. They played at Oakland in "Monday Night Football" games in 2006 and 2009. The Chargers likely won’t complain about not getting a home game to start the season. They won both of the games in Oakland.

Chargers Regular Season Schedule (All times Eastern)
Week 1: Monday, Sep. 13, at Kansas City, 10:15 PM
Week 2: Sunday, Sep. 19, Jacksonville, 4:15 PM
Week 3: Sunday, Sep. 26, at Seattle, 4:15 PM
Week 4: Sunday, Oct. 3, Arizona, 4:15 PM
Week 5: Sunday, Oct. 10, at Oakland, 4:15 PM
Week 6: Sunday, Oct. 17, at St. Louis, 1:00 PM
Week 7: Sunday, Oct. 24, New England, 4:15 PM
Week 8: Sunday, Oct. 31, Tennessee, 4:05 PM
Week 9: Sunday, Nov. 7, at Houston, 1:00 PM
Week 10: BYE
Week 11: Monday, Nov. 22, Denver, 8:30 PM
Week 12: Sunday, Nov. 28, at Indianapolis, 8:20 PM
Week 13: Sunday, Dec. 5, Oakland, 4:05 PM
Week 14: Sunday, Dec. 12, Kansas City, 4:15 PM
Week 15: Thursday, Dec. 16, San Francisco, 8:20 PM
Week 16: Sunday, Dec. 26, at Cincinnati, 8:20 PM
Week 17: Sunday, Jan. 2, at Denver, 4:15 PM

Bill Williamson | email

ESPN Oakland Raiders reporter

SPONSORED HEADLINES

Comments

You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?

Insider