Did Holmes score again?

January, 18, 2009
1/18/09
7:28
PM ET

Posted by ESPN.com's James Walker

PITTSBURGH -- Steelers receiver Santonio Holmes cannot avoid controversial catches.

But this time, the call didn't go his way.

About a month after scoring arguably the most debated touchdown of the regular season in the Steelers' second victory over the Baltimore Ravens, Holmes had yet another close call in the end zone during the first quarter of the AFC Championship Game.

Holmes made what the referees originally ruled a catch but bobbled the football coming down at the 1-yard line. It was also possible that Holmes scored a touchdown. But after viewing the replay, officials overturned the call and ruled it an incomplete pass.

The sequence resulted in kicker Jeff Reed making his second field goal, for 42 yards, to give Pittsburgh a 6-0 lead.

Here is another injury note: Steelers receiver Hines Ward has a right knee injury, and his return is questionable.

SPONSORED HEADLINES

Comments

You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?

NFL SCOREBOARD

Thursday, 10/23
Sunday, 10/26
Monday, 10/27
WEEKLY LEADERS