Buffalo Bills schedule analysis

April, 19, 2011
4/19/11
7:30
PM ET
Breakdown: The Bills had the NFL's drabbest schedule last season. They had zero primetime games. They didn't have any 4 o'clock kickoffs. Every week -- home and away -- they played at 1 p.m. Sunday.

This season's schedule doesn't provide much more variety. The Bills will have two -- count 'em, two -- kickoffs in the 4 o'clock hour, but one of those games will take place against the San Diego Chargers in the Pacific time zone.

The other "late game" will be their annual trip to Toronto. Contrary to a report from a Toronto radio station, the Bills won't play the Philadelphia Eagles at the Rogers Centre in November. Not even close. The Bills will play the Washington Redskins there Oct. 30.

Complaint department: The Bills own the NFL's second-toughest schedule based on their opponents' 2010 records. The main reason for that are two games apiece against the 14-2 New England Patriots and the 11-5 New York Jets.

By the time the Bills have their bye in Week 7, they will have met one team that had a losing record last season -- a trip to the Cincinnati Bengals in Week 4.

Quirky division schedule: Unlike last season, when the Bills had faced every AFC East opponent by Week 4, they will have played only one divisional game through Week 8. Five of their last nine games are against the division, including the Jets and Miami Dolphins twice apiece in that span. The Bills' games against the Jets take place 21 days apart in Weeks 9 and 12.

Bills Regular-Season Schedule (All times Eastern)
Week 1: Sunday, Sep. 11, at Kansas City, 1:00 PM
Week 2: Sunday, Sep. 18, Oakland, 1:00 PM
Week 3: Sunday, Sep. 25, New England, 1:00 PM
Week 4: Sunday, Oct. 2, at Cincinnati, 1:00 PM
Week 5: Sunday, Oct. 9, Philadelphia, 1:00 PM
Week 6: Sunday, Oct. 16, at NY Giants, 1:00 PM
Week 7: BYE
Week 8: Sunday, Oct. 30, Washington, 4:05 PM
Week 9: Sunday, Nov. 6, NY Jets, 1:00 PM
Week 10: Sunday, Nov. 13, at Dallas, 1:00 PM
Week 11: Sunday, Nov. 20, at Miami, 1:00 PM
Week 12: Sunday, Nov. 27, at NY Jets, 1:00 PM
Week 13: Sunday, Dec. 4, Tennessee, 1:00 PM
Week 14: Sunday, Dec. 11, at San Diego, 4:15 PM
Week 15: Sunday, Dec. 18, Miami, 1:00 PM
Week 16: Saturday, Dec. 24, Denver, 1:00 PM
Week 17: Sunday, Jan. 1, at New England, 1:00 PM

SPONSORED HEADLINES

Comments

You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?

Roster Advisor