<
>

Titans schedule analysis

Posted by ESPN.com's Paul Kuharsky

Breakdown: The Titans' big 2008 regular season lined them up for a heavy dose of prime time. They play in the Thursday night season opener at Pittsburgh, host Indianapolis on a Sunday night, play at Houston on a Monday night and host San Diego on Christmas night.

Four out of the first six are on the road, with trips to Pittsburgh, the New York Jets, Jacksonville and New England before the bye. That Colts-Patriots back-to-back in the middle of October is a toughie. But the Titans have a chance to finish strong with four of their last six and three of their final four at LP Field. Three games in a row could be trouble for the turf at LP Field, which has had some problems late in the season in the past.

The Titans' opponents combined for a .508 winning percentage last year, meaning this ranks as the league's 14th-toughest schedule.

Complaint department: The season finale is at Seattle. A long trip back to Nashville late Sunday could make it feel like a short week if the Titans are heading home to get ready for a first-round playoff game. If they're heading home to pack up lockers it won't be fun either. If they're heading home for a bye, it'll be no big deal.

Wild-card category: The last two seasons have concluded with games at Indianapolis. In 2007, it was win and in for the Titans and had no meaning for the Colts. In 2008, it meant nothing to either team. So this year, the second meeting of the division rivals is at Indianapolis on Dec. 6. Tennessee will have to have made its bid for the crown in head-to-head matchups by then, as the Titans' final four games are outside the division.

Titans Regular Season Schedule (All times Eastern)

Week 1: Thursday, Sept. 10, at Pittsburgh Steelers, 8:30 p.m. NBC
Week 2: Sunday, Sept. 20, HOUSTON TEXANS, 1 p.m., CBS
Week 3: Sunday, Sept. 27, at N.Y. Jets, 4:15 p.m., CBS
Week 4: Sunday, Oct. 4, at Jacksonville Jaguars, 1 p.m., CBS
Week 5: Sunday, Oct. 11, INDIANAPOLIS COLTS, 8:20 p.m., NBC
Week 6: Sunday Oct. 18, at New England Patriots, 4:15 p.m., CBS
Week 7: BYE
Week 8: Sunday, Nov. 1, JACKSONVILLE JAGUARS, 4:05 p.m., CBS
Week 9: Sunday, Nov. 18, at San Francisco 49ers, 4:15 p.m., CBS
Week 10: Sunday, Nov. 15, BUFFALO BILLS, 1 p.m., CBS
Week 11: Monday, Nov. 23, at Houston Texans, 8:30 p.m., ESPN
Week 12: Sunday, Nov. 29, ARIZONA CARDINALS, 1 p.m., FOX
Week 13: Sunday, Dec. 6, at Indianapolis Colts, 1 p.m., CBS
Week 14: Sunday, Dec. 13, ST. LOUIS RAMS, 1 p.m., FOX
Week 15: Sunday, Dec. 20, MIAMI DOLPHINS, 1 p.m., CBS
Week 16: Friday, Dec. 25, SAN DIEGO CHARGERS, 7:30 p.m., NFLN
Week 17: Sunday, Jan. 3, at Seattle Seahawks, 4:15 p.m., CBS